Sarawak Day in Malaysia in 2022

Sarawak Day in Malaysia in 2022

  How long until Sarawak Day?
Sarawak Day
  Dates of Sarawak Day in Malaysia
2023 Sarawak Sat, Jul 22 Regional Holiday
2022 Sarawak Fri, Jul 22 Regional Holiday
2021 Sarawak Thu, Jul 22 Regional Holiday
2020 Sarawak Wed, Jul 22 Regional Holiday
2019 Sarawak Mon, Jul 22 Regional Holiday

On July 22nd 1963, the British granted Sarawak self-government on the condition that it joined Malaya, North Borneo and Singapore to form Malaysia

  Local name
Hari Kemerdekaan Sarawak

When is Sarawak Day?

Sarawak Day is a regional public holiday in Malaysia and is always celebrated on July 22nd.

This day marks the start of the period of self-governance for Sarawak in 1963. The day is intended to "honour past leaders",  recognise the efforts of those who fought for the independence of the Sarawak from British colonial rule and improve historical awareness among locals and Malaysians.

What is Sarawak Day?

Sarawak is located on the north-west of the island of Borneo and became a British Colony in 1946 following the end of the Second World War.

On July 22nd 1963, Sarawak attained self-government from the British Empire. On the same day, Tan Sri Datuk Amar Stephen Kalong Ningkan was appointed as Sarawak Chief Minister and the Supreme Council comprising Sarawak’s first ministerial cabinet was formed.

Sarawak only remained self-governing for less than two months until September 16th 1963, when it formed Malaysia together with North Borneo, Singapore and Malaya.

The holiday is not celebrated as Sarawak Independence as the British Governor remained in residence until September 15th 1963.

Sarawak Day has been a regional public holiday since 2016 when July 22nd was officially gazetted as a public holiday in the Sarawak Government Gazette following a statement from the State Administrative Unit of the Chief Minister’s Department. The first Sarawak Day celebrations were held at the Kuching Waterfront.

September 16th 1963 has been celebrated with a national holiday called Malaysia Day since 2010.

Translate this page