Federal Territory Day in Kuala Lumpur in 2025

Federal Territory Day in Kuala Lumpur in 2025
  How long until Federal Territory Day?
Federal Territory Day
  Dates of Federal Territory Day in Kuala Lumpur
2025 Sat, Feb 1Regional Holiday
2024 Thu, Feb 1Regional Holiday
2023 Wed, Feb 1Regional Holiday
2022 Thu, Feb 3Regional Holiday (additional day)
2021 Mon, Feb 1Regional Holiday

Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya only. Anniversary of the formation of the Kuala Lumpur Federal Territory in 1974

When is Federal Territory Day?

This regional public holiday is celebrated annually on February 1st. If February 1st falls on a weekend, the following Monday will be observed as a holiday. The holiday may also be moved if it clashes with the public holiday for Chinese New Year.

It is a public holiday in the federal territories of Kuala Lumpur, Labuan and Putrajaya.

Also known as 'Hari Wilayah Persekutuan', the holiday marks the anniversary of the formation of the Kuala Lumpur Federal Territory in 1974.

History of Federal Territory Day

Malaysia took its modern form in 1963 when the former British colony of Singapore and the East Malaysian states of Sabah and Sarawak, joined the Federation of Malaya. This event is marked by Malaysia Day.

At that time, Kuala Lumpur, the capital of Malaysia was part of the state of Selangor. On January 28th 1974, the Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur Agreement was signed and four days later, Kuala Lumpur became a federal territory under the control of the federal government.

In 1984, a second federal territory was created when the government of Sabah state ceded Labuan to the federal government.

Due to overcrowding in Kuala Lumpur, a new planned city, Putrajaya, was created as the centre for administration of Malaysia. This new city required Selangor to cede more land. The seat of Malaysian government was shifted from Kuala Lumpur to Putrajaya in 1999 and in 2001, Putrajaya became the third federal territory.

All three federal territories celebrate February 1st as a public holiday to mark the initial formation of Kuala Lumpur as a federal territory.

Territory Day is celebrated in large numbers by holding colourful parades, concerts, stage shows, competitions and a host of other events held at designated venues each year. 

The festivities start at midday with fireworks. Various events are held to mark the day, such as sports, fishing competitions at Lake Perdana and at Titiwangsa Lake and many other events. 

Translate this page