Maha Saptami around the world in 2024

Maha Saptami around the world in 2024
Image by Tarikul Raana , via Unsplash
  How long until Maha Saptami?
Maha Saptami
  Dates of Maha Saptami around the world
2025 IndiaSep 29
Assam Mon, Sep 29Regional Holiday
Odisha Mon, Sep 29Regional Holiday
Tripura Mon, Sep 29Regional Holiday
West Bengal Mon, Sep 29Regional Holiday
2024 IndiaOct 10
Assam Thu, Oct 10Regional Holiday
Tripura Thu, Oct 10Regional Holiday
West Bengal Thu, Oct 10Regional Holiday
2023 IndiaOct 21
Assam Sat, Oct 21Regional Holiday
Odisha Sat, Oct 21Regional Holiday
Tripura Sat, Oct 21Regional Holiday
West Bengal Sat, Oct 21Regional Holiday
2022 IndiaOct 2
Assam Sun, Oct 2Regional Holiday
Odisha Sun, Oct 2Regional Holiday
Sikkim Sun, Oct 2Regional Holiday
Tripura Sun, Oct 2Regional Holiday
West Bengal Sun, Oct 2Regional Holiday
2021 IndiaOct 12
Assam Tue, Oct 12Regional Holiday
Bihar Tue, Oct 12Regional Holiday
Odisha Tue, Oct 12Regional Holiday
Tripura Tue, Oct 12Regional Holiday
West Bengal Tue, Oct 12Regional Holiday

Assam, Odisha, West Bengal. On the seventh day of Durga Puja, the goddess started her battle against Mahishasura.

When is Maha Saptami?

Maha Saptami is the seventh day of Durga Puja celebrations.

Traditions of Maha Saptami

Maha Saptami is also known as Saptami of Durgapuja and is one of the important days of Durga Puja.

The Maha Puja (Great Ceremony) starts on Maha Saptami.

Durga Puja is a Hindu festival in South Asia that celebrates the worship of the goddess Durga.

Durga Puja celebrates the ten-armed mother goddess and her victory over the evil buffalo demon Mahishasura.

The world was under threat from the evil buffalo demon Mahishasura, that no man or god could defeat. To vanquish the demon, Durga emerged from the collective energies of all the gods. Each of her ten arms brandished the deadliest weapon of each god.

On the seventh day (saptami) of Durga Puja, the goddess started her epic battle against Mahishasura which ended with his death on Vijaya Dashami (the 10th day).

Other Key days during Durga Puja

The rituals of Durga Puja last ten days with the start and the last five days being special festivals that are reflected in public holidays in some states in India.


Mahalaya marks the start of the Durga Puja festival. 

Durga Ashtami

This is the eighth day of Durga Puja celebrations, when the weapons used by Durga are worshipped.

Maha Navami

This is the ninth day of Durga Puja. On this day, the victory of Durga over the evil buffalo demon Mahishasura is celebrated. 

Vijaya Dashami

Also known as Dashain or Tenth day of Navratri or Durgotsav, Vijaya Dashami commemorates the day that Durga appeared riding a lion to slay the Mahisasura.

Translate this page