Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in Kerala in 2018

Kerala Upcoming Public Holidays in Kerala

Republic Day
Republic Day

26 January 2018 This National holiday is in 5 days. Republic Day is an important national holiday that commemorates the establishment of th...

Maha Shivratri
Maha Shivratri

13 February 2018 This Regional holiday is in 23 days. According to Hindu mythology, Shivaratri symbolizes the wedding day of Lord Shiva.

Maundy Thursday
Maundy Thursday

29 March 2018 This Regional holiday is in 67 days. Commemorates the last supper and established the ceremony known as the Eucharist

India National and Regional Public holidays of Kerala in 2018

DayDateHolidayComments
Tuesday January 02 Mannam Jayanthi Kerala Only
Friday January 26 Republic Day
Tuesday February 13 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Thursday March 29 Maundy Thursday Kerala only
Friday March 30 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Sunday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Saturday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Sunday April 15 Vishu Kerala Only. First day of Tulu calendar
Tuesday May 01 May Day Many states
Friday June 15 Idul Fitr Many states
Saturday August 11 Karkkadaka Vavu Kerala
Wednesday August 15 Independence Day
Wednesday August 22 Idul Juha Bakrid. Many states
Friday August 24 First Onam Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Saturday August 25 Thiruvonam Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Sunday August 26 Third Onam Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Monday August 27 Sree Narayana Guru Jayanti Kerala only
Tuesday August 28 Ayankali Jayanthi Kerala only
Sunday September 02 Sreekrishna Jayanthi Kerala, Odisha. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Thursday September 20 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Friday September 21 Sree Narayana Guru Samadhi Kerala only. Marks the death of a key social reformer
Tuesday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Thursday October 18 Mahanavami Several states. Ninth Day of Dussehra
Friday October 19 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Tuesday November 06 Deepavali Several states
Tuesday November 20 Id-e-Milad Kerala
Tuesday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page