Victory Day in Bangladesh

Public Holiday in Bangladesh

Bangladesh Flag

When is Bangladesh Victory Day?

How long until Victory Day?
This holiday next takes place in 234 Days.
Dates of Victory Day
Year Weekday Date
2020 Wednesday December 16th
2019 Monday December 16th
2018 Sunday December 16th
2017 Saturday December 16th
1 Day
Local Name
Commemorates the surrender of the Pakistani army to the Mukti Bahini

The holiday is always celebrated on 16 December. Known as 'Bijôy Dibôs' in Bengali, this holiday commemorates the victory of the Allied forces High Command over the Pakistani forces in the Bangladesh Liberation War in 1971.

History of Bangladesh Victory Day

In 1947, India was partitioned by the British, creating the 'Dominion of Pakistan', which was two separate regions to the north west and north east of India. The new dominion was governed from West Pakistan, which led to frictions between the two regions.

In the 1970 general elections, the Bangla-based Awami League won an overall majority, but the West Pakistani regime was reluctant to hand over power.

On 25 March 1971, Pakistani troops were used to quell the growing unrest. This marked the start of the War of Independence, also known as the War of Liberation.

During the War of Liberation, Mukti Bahini, a guerrilla resistance movement consisting of the Bangladeshi military, paramilitary forces and civilians was created..

In November 1971, India entered the war, supporting East Pakistan. This led to victory for East Pakistan on 16 December 1971 with the Pakistan army's surrender to the Mukti Bahini at the Race Course Maidan (now Suhrawardy Udyan) in Dhaka.

How is Bangladesh Victory Day celebrated?

Commemorations to mark the day begin with a 31 gun salute at the National Parade Ground at Sher-e-Bangla Nagar. Over three million people died in the nine month conflict and tributes are paid to the fallen at the National Memorial at Saver.

Translate this page