Which states observe Columbus Day?

USA Public Holidays Which states observe the Federal Holiday of Columbus Day

Columbus Day

Columbus Day by year
Year Weekday Date
2018 Monday October 8th
2017 Monday October 9th
2016 Monday October 10th
2015 Monday October 12th

Columbus Day commemorates the date when Christopher Columbus first set foot in the Americas. In the USA it is observed on the Second Monday in October.

Though Columbus Day is one of the 10 US legal federal holidays, it is not considered a major one. There will be no postal service and while some banks may close, most businesses remain open. Retail stores may run special sales.

Even if a state listed below observes Columbus Day as a holiday, some state offices may be still open.

Definitive information on how each state observes Columbus Day is difficult to find, so the following table has been compiled. Please contact us with any corrections or extra comments to help make this list an even better resource.

Map of US States that observe Columbus Day in 2016

Map of Columbus Day by State

List of US states and the observance of Columbus Day in 2017

State Observes
Columbus Day?
Alabama Alabama Yes Fraternal Day is also a state holiday on 2nd Monday in October
Alaska Alaska No Renamed as Indigenous Peoples Day in 2015
Arizona Arizona Yes  
Arkansas Arkansas No  
California California No  
Colorado Colorado Yes A legal state holiday though some government offices will be open. Denver City and Boulder also celebrate Indigenous Peoples Day
Connecticut Connecticut Yes  
Delaware Delaware No Not a legal holiday
Florida Florida No  
Georgia Georgia Yes  
Hawaii Hawaii No Discovery Day is celebrated on 2nd Monday in October, but it is not a legal holiday
Idaho Idaho Yes  
Illinois Illinois Yes  
Indiana Indiana Yes Celebrated as Fall Holiday in Bloomington
Iowa Iowa Yes  
Kansas Kansas No  
Kentucky Kentucky No  
Louisiana Louisiana No  
Maine Maine No Celebrated as Indigenous Peoples’ Day in Belfast
Maryland Maryland Yes  
Massachusetts Massachusetts Yes Celebrated as Indigenous Peoples’ Day in Cambridge
Michigan Michigan No Celebrated as Indigenous Peoples’ Day in Traverse City
Minnesota Minnesota Yes Celebrated as Indigenous Peoples’ Day in Grand Rapids, Minneapolis and St. Paul
Mississippi Mississippi No  
Missouri Missouri Yes  
Montana Montana Yes Celebrated as Indigenous Peoples’ Day in Missoula
Nebraska Nebraska Yes  
Nevada Nevada No  
New Hampshire New Hampshire Yes State holiday but not paid
New Jersey New Jersey Yes  
New Mexico New Mexico Yes Celebrated as Indigenous Peoples’ Day in Albuquerque and Sandoval County
New York New York Yes  
North Carolina North Carolina No  
North Dakota North Dakota No Celebrated as Indigenous Peoples’ Day in Fargo
Ohio Ohio Yes  
Oklahoma Oklahoma No  
Oregon Oregon No Celebrated as Indigenous Peoples’ Day in Multnomah County and Portland
Pennsylvania Pennsylvania Yes  
Rhode Island Rhode Island Yes  
South Carolina South Carolina Yes  
South Dakota South Dakota Yes Native Americans Day
Tennessee Tennessee Yes Columbus day may be observed on the Friday after Thanksgiving at the discretion of the Governor
Texas Texas No  
Utah Utah No  
Vermont Vermont No  
Virginia Virginia Yes  
Washington Washington Yes Celebrated as Indigenous Peoples’ Day in Olympia, Seattle and Spokane City
West Virginia West Virginia Yes  
Wisconsin Wisconsin Yes  
Wyoming Wyoming No  

Related Links

Translate this page

Powered by Google