African Unity Day

Public Holiday observed in several countries in Africa

African Unity Day

When is African Unity Day?

Country Name
Public Holidays in Ghana in 2017 Ghana African Unity Day
Public Holidays in Zambia in 2017 Zambia African Freedom Day
Public Holidays in Zimbabwe in 2017 Zimbabwe Africa Day

African Unity Day, also known as Africa day is celebrated annually on 25 May. It commemorates the founding of the Organisation of African Unity on this day in 1963.

It is a statutory public holiday in Ghana. It is also a public holiday in The Gambia, Mali, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

History of African Unity Day

On 25 May 1963, the leaders from 30 of the 32 independent African states signed a founding charter in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

The OAU was created to help bring about change, freedom and independence to many African countries.

In 1991, the OAU established the African Economic Community, and in 2002 the OAU established its own successor, the African Union.

Since the establishment of the OAU, a further 21 states have joined. South Africa became the latest and 53rd member on 23 May 1994.

Following the first Conference of Independent African States on 15 April 1958, African Liberation Day or African Freedom Day was celebrated in Ethiopia, South Africa and Ghana. This holiday was replaced by African Unity Day in Ghana in 1963.

Despite the name change to the African Union, the name and date of Africa Day has been retained and Africa Day provides an opportunity to acknowledge the achievements of the peoples and governments of Africa.

Translate this page