Mauritius announces public holidays for 2017

Government Set 15 Holidays in 2017

Port-Louis, 22 May 2016

On 20 May 2016, the Mauritian Prime Minster's office published the cabinet decision on the public holidays to be observed in Mauritius during 2017. In 2017, 11 of the 15 listed public holidays fall on weekdays.

During 2017, Mauritians will enjoy five long weekends for

  • New Year,
  • Maha Shivaratree,
  • Labour Day,
  • Eid Ul-Fitr and
  • Christmas.

The exact date of Eid-Ul-Fitr is subject to confirmation as its celebration depends on the visibility of the moon.

Translate this page