Bank Holidays in Northern Ireland in 2020

United Kingdom National and Regional Bank holidays of Northern Ireland in 2020

Wednesday January 01 New Year's Day First Monday if 1st is Saturday or Sunday
Tuesday February 25 Pancake Tuesday Shrove Tuesday. Not a Public Holiday
Tuesday March 17 St. Patrick's Day Northern Ireland Only
Sunday March 22 Mothering Sunday Not a National Holiday
Friday April 10 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday April 13 Easter Monday Except Scotland
Monday May 04 Early May Bank Holiday First Monday in May
Monday May 25 Spring Bank Holiday Last Monday in May
Sunday June 21 Father's Day 3rd Sunday in June. Not a public holiday
Monday July 13 Battle of the Boyne (observed) Northern Ireland Only
Monday August 31 August Bank Holiday Last Monday in August (except Scotland)
Sunday November 08 Remembrance Sunday Not a public holiday. Sunday closest to 11 November
Friday December 25 Christmas Day
Monday December 28 Boxing Day (in lieu)


National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday


  • Within the United Kingdom, there is no legal definition of what constitutes a public holiday in and it is debatable whether public holidays technically exist in Scotland. The term public holiday is often confused with bank holidays.
  • In England and Wales a bank holiday tends automatically to be a public holiday and the day is generally observed as a holiday. In Scotland this may not always the case.

Translate this page