Social

Options

Advertisements


Bank Holidays in United Kingdom in 2014

United Kingdom List of national and regional Bank holidays of United Kingdom in 2014

Day Date Holiday Comments
Wednesday January 01 New Years Day First Monday if 1st is Saturday or Sunday
Thursday January 02 Day after New Years Day Scotland Only
Saturday March 01 St Davids Day Wales Only. Not a public holiday.
Tuesday March 04 Pancake Tuesday Shrove Tuesday. Not a Public Holiday
Monday March 17 St Patricks Day Northern Ireland Only.
Sunday March 30 Mothering Sunday Not a National Holiday
Friday April 18 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday April 21 Easter Monday Except Scotland
Wednesday April 23 St Georges Day England Only. Not a National holiday.
Monday May 05 Early May Bank Holiday First Monday in May
Monday May 26 Spring Bank Holiday Last Monday in May
Sunday June 15 Father's Day Third Sunday of June. Not a National Holiday
Monday July 14 Battle of the Boyne Northern Ireland Only
Monday August 04 August Bank Holiday Scotland Only. First Monday in August.
Monday August 25 August Bank Holiday Last Monday in August (except Scotland)
Wednesday November 05 Guy Fawkes Night England Only. Not a National holiday.
Monday December 01 St Andrews Day (in lieu) Scotland Only. If November 30 falls on a weekend, the next Monday is a bank holiday instead.
Thursday December 25 Christmas Day
Friday December 26 Boxing Day

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Within the United Kingdom, there is no legal definition of what constitutes a public holiday in and it is debatable whether public holidays technically exist in Scotland. The term public holiday is often confused with bank holidays.
  • In England and Wales a bank holiday tends automatically to be a public holiday and the day is generally observed as a holiday. In Scotland this may not always the case.

Translate this page