Bank Holidays in United Kingdom in 2011

United Kingdom List of national and regional Bank holidays of United Kingdom in 2011

Day Date Holiday Comments
Monday January 03 New Years Day (in lieu) First Monday if 1st is Saturday or Sunday
Tuesday January 04 Day after New Years Day Scotland Only
Tuesday March 01 St Davids Day Wales only. Not a National holiday.
Thursday March 17 St Patricks Day Northern Ireland Only.
Sunday April 03 Mothering Sunday Not a National Holiday
Friday April 22 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Saturday April 23 St Georges Day England Only. Not a National holiday.
Monday April 25 Easter Monday Except Scotland
Friday April 29 Royal Wedding Bank Holiday To celebrate the Royal wedding
Monday May 02 Early May Bank Holiday First Monday in May
Monday May 30 May Bank Holiday Last Monday in May
Sunday June 19 Father's Day Not a National Holiday
Tuesday July 12 Battle of the Boyne Northern Ireland Only
Monday August 01 August Bank Holiday Scotland Only
Monday August 29 August Bank Holiday in August (except Scotland)
Saturday November 05 Guy Fawkes Night England Only. Not a National holiday.
Wednesday November 30 St Andrews Day Scotland Only. If November 30 falls on a weekend, the next Monday is a bank holiday instead.
Sunday December 25 Christmas Day
Monday December 26 Christmas Day (in lieu) In lieu of Christmas Day
Tuesday December 27 Boxing Day (in lieu) In lieu of Boxing Day


National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday


  • Within the United Kingdom, there is no legal definition of what constitutes a public holiday in and it is debatable whether public holidays technically exist in Scotland. The term public holiday is often confused with bank holidays.
  • In England and Wales a bank holiday tends automatically to be a public holiday and the day is generally observed as a holiday. In Scotland this may not always the case.

Translate this page