Bank Holidays in United Kingdom in 2010

United Kingdom List of national and regional Bank holidays of United Kingdom in 2010

Day Date Holiday Comments
Friday January 01 New Years Day First Monday if 1st is Saturday or Sunday
Monday January 04 Day after New Years Day Scotland Only
Monday March 01 St Davids Day Wales Only. Not a public holiday.
Sunday March 14 Mothering Sunday Not a National Holiday
Wednesday March 17 St Patricks Day Northern Ireland Only.
Friday April 02 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday April 05 Easter Monday Except Scotland
Friday April 23 St Georges Day England Only. Not a National holiday.
Monday May 03 Early May Bank Holiday First Monday in May
Monday May 31 May Bank Holiday Last Monday in May
Sunday June 20 Father's Day Not a National Holiday
Monday July 12 Battle of the Boyne Northern Ireland Only
Monday August 02 August Bank Holiday Scotland Only
Monday August 30 August Bank Holiday in August (except Scotland)
Tuesday November 30 St Andrews Day Scotland Only. If November 30 falls on a weekend, the next Monday is a bank holiday instead.
Saturday December 25 Christmas Day
Sunday December 26 Boxing Day Celebrated on 26th December. Typically it will be moved and celebrated on the next weekday if 26 December is a Saturday or Sunday
Monday December 27 Christmas Day (in lieu) In lieu of Christmas Day
Tuesday December 28 Boxing Day (in lieu) In lieu of Boxing Day


National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday


  • Within the United Kingdom, there is no legal definition of what constitutes a public holiday in and it is debatable whether public holidays technically exist in Scotland. The term public holiday is often confused with bank holidays.
  • In England and Wales a bank holiday tends automatically to be a public holiday and the day is generally observed as a holiday. In Scotland this may not always the case.

Translate this page