Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in Sri Lanka in 2018

Sri Lanka Upcoming Holidays in Sri Lanka

Navam Full Moon Poya
Navam Full Moon Poya

31 January 2018 This National holiday is in 9 days. Celebrates the appointment of Buddha's two chief disciples and the first-ever Buddh...

National Day
National Day

4 February 2018 This National holiday is in 13 days. Marks independence from British rule on 4 February 1948

Maha Shivratri
Maha Shivratri

13 February 2018 This National holiday is in 22 days. According to Hindu mythology, Shivaratri symbolizes the wedding day of Lord Shiva.

Sri Lanka List of National Public holidays of Sri Lanka in 2018

Day Date Holiday Comments
Monday January 01 Duruthu Full Moon Poya
Sunday January 14 Tamil Thai Pongal Day
Monday January 15 Tamil Thai Pongal Day Holiday Bank Holiday
Wednesday January 31 Navam Full Moon Poya
Sunday February 04 National Day Marks independence from British rule in 1948
Monday February 05 Special Bank Holiday Bank Holiday
Tuesday February 13 Maha Shivratri
Thursday March 01 Madin Full Moon Poya
Friday March 30 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Saturday March 31 Bak Full Moon Poya
Friday April 13 Sinhala and Tamil New Year Eve
Saturday April 14 Sinhala and Tamil New Year
Friday April 20 Half Day Special Bank Holiday Bank Holiday
Sunday April 29 Vesak Full Moon Poya Birth of Buddha. Observed on the day of the full moon in May
Monday April 30 Vesak Full Moon Poya Holiday Birth of Buddha. Observed on the day of the full moon in May
Tuesday May 01 May Day
Tuesday May 29 Adi-Poson Full Moon Poya
Friday June 15 Idul Fitr
Wednesday June 27 Poson Full Moon Poya
Friday July 27 Esala Full Moon Poya
Wednesday August 22 Idul Adha Hajjhi Festival Day
Saturday August 25 Nikini Full Moon Poya
Monday September 24 Binara Full Moon Poya
Wednesday October 24 Vap Full Moon Poya
Tuesday November 06 Deepavali Dewali
Tuesday November 20 Milad-un-Nabi
Thursday November 22 Ill Full Moon Poya
Saturday December 22 Unduvap Full Moon Poya
Tuesday December 25 Christmas Day

Key

National Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Each Full Moon is a public holiday. If the full moon falls on a weekend, the holiday is not moved

Translate this page