Public Holidays in Cantabria in 2019

Public Holidays in Cantabria Upcoming Public Holidays in Cantabria, Spain

St. James' Day
St. James' Day

25 July 2019 This Regional holiday is in 59 days. St. James is the patron saint of Galicia as well as Spain

Day of Cantabria Institutions
Day of Cantabria Institutions

28 July 2019 This Regional holiday is in 62 days. The Province of Cantabria was constituted on 28 July 1778

Assumption Day
Assumption of Mary

15 August 2019 This National holiday is in 80 days. The Feast of the Assumption is the principal feast of the Blessed Virgin, the mother of...

cantabria, Spain National and Regional Public holidays of Cantabria, Spain in 2019

Tuesday January 01 Jan 1 New Year's Day
Sunday January 06 Jan 6 Epiphany Technically not a national holiday, but has been declared a regional holiday in all regions
Tuesday March 19 Mar 19 Father's Day Celebrated on St. Joseph's day
Thursday April 18 Apr 18 Maundy Thursday except Catalonia and Valenciana
Friday April 19 Apr 19 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday April 22 Apr 22 Easter Monday Several regions
Wednesday May 01 May 1 Labour Day Fiesta del trabajo
Sunday May 05 May 5 Mother's Day 1st Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Thursday July 25 Jul 25 St. James' Day Feast day of St. James, patron saint of Spain
Sunday July 28 Jul 28 Day of Cantabria Institutions Cantabria only
Thursday August 15 Aug 15 Assumption Day Assumption of Mary
Sunday September 15 Sep 15 Lady of Aparecida The Patron saint of Cantabria
Saturday October 12 Oct 12 Hispanic Day Columbus Day
Friday November 01 Nov 1 All Saints' Day
Friday December 06 Dec 6 Constitution Day
Sunday December 08 Dec 8 Immaculate Conception Day
Monday December 09 Dec 9 Immaculate Conception Holiday Several regions
Wednesday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day


National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday


  • Public holidays are taken on the day they fall and not moved to the following weekend, if they fall on a Saturday or Sunday.
  • Each municipality has a maximum of 13 public holidays a year; up to nine holidays are set by the national government and at least two are chosen locally.
  • The list of regional holidays changes every year, partly because of national holidays falling on Sundays.

Translate this page