Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in Catalonia in 2017

Public Holidays in Catalonia Upcoming Public Holidays in Catalonia, Spain

Christmas Day
Christmas Day

25 December 2017 This National holiday is in 9 days. The day celebrates the Nativity of Jesus, the date which according to tradition took pl...

St Stephens Day
St. Stephen's Day

26 December 2017 This Regional holiday is in 10 days. The second day of Christmas is known as Boxing Day or St. Stephens Day. St Stephen was...

New Year's Day
New Year's Day

1 January 2018 This National holiday is in 16 days. New Years Day is a public holiday in all countries that observe the Gregorian calendar,...

catalonia, Spain National and Regional Public holidays of Catalonia, Spain in 2017

DayDateHolidayComments
Sunday January 01 Jan 1 New Years Day
Friday January 06 Jan 6 Epiphany Technically not a national holiday, but has been declared a regional holiday in all regions
Sunday March 19 Mar 19 Father's Day Celebrated on St. Joseph' s day
Friday April 14 Apr 14 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday April 17 Apr 17 Easter Monday Balearic Islands, Basque Country, Catalonia, La Rioja, Navarra and Valenciana Only
Monday May 01 May 1 Labour Day Fiesta del trabajo
Sunday May 07 May 7 Mother's Day 1st Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Saturday June 24 Jun 24 Feast of St John the Baptist Catalonia Only
Tuesday August 15 Aug 15 Assumption Day Assumption of Mary
Monday September 11 Sep 11 National Day of Catalonia marks the anniversary of the recapture of Barcelona in 1714
Thursday October 12 Oct 12 Hispanic Day Columbus Day
Wednesday November 01 Nov 1 All Saints' Day
Wednesday December 06 Dec 6 Constitution Day
Friday December 08 Dec 8 Immaculate Conception Day
Monday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day
Tuesday December 26 Dec 26 St Stephens Day Catalonia

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Public holidays are taken on the day they fall and not moved to the following weekend, if they fall on a Saturday or Sunday.
  • Each municipality has a maximum of 13 public holidays a year; up to nine holidays are set by the national government and at least two are chosen locally.
  • The list of regional holidays changes every year, partly because of national holidays falling on Sundays.

Translate this page