Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in Spain in 2018

Spain Upcoming Holidays in Spain

Feast of St Francis Xavier
Feast of St Francis Xavier

3 December 2018 This Regional holiday is in 17 days. Navarra only. Francis was a Roman Catholic missionary born in Xavier, Kingdom of Navarr...

Constitution Day
Constitution Day

6 December 2018 This National holiday is in 20 days. Constitution day is therefore a celebration of the day Spain became a democracy

Immaculate Conception Day
Immaculate Conception Day

8 December 2018 This National holiday is in 22 days. It is a day that celebrates the belief that Mary, mother of Jesus, was preserved from o...

Spain List of National Public holidays of Spain in 2018

Day Date Holiday Comments
Monday January 01 New Year's Day
Saturday January 06 Epiphany Technically not a national holiday, but has been declared a regional holiday in all regions
Wednesday February 28 Andalucía Day Andalucía only
Thursday March 01 Balearic Day Balearic Islands
Monday March 19 Father's Day Celebrated on Saint Joseph's Day. Not a public holiday
Monday March 19 St. Joseph's Day Murcia, Valenciana only
Thursday March 29 Holy Thursday except Canary Islands, Cantabria, Catalonia, Valenciana
Friday March 30 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday April 02 Easter Monday Balearic Islands, Basque Country, Catalonia, Navarra, Valenciana
Monday April 23 Castile and León Community Day Castile and León only. Commemorates of the Battle of Villalar in 1521
Monday April 23 St. George's Day National day of Aragon
Tuesday May 01 Labour Day Fiesta del trabajo
Wednesday May 02 Community Festival of Madrid Madrid only. Marks a rebellion against the French during the War of Independence
Sunday May 06 Mother's Day 1st Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Tuesday May 15 Feast of St. Isidro City of Madrid only. Patron Saint of Madrid
Thursday May 17 Galician Literature Day Galicia only
Wednesday May 30 Canary Islands The first session of the autonomous Canary Islands Parliament was May 30, 1983
Thursday May 31 Castilla-La Mancha Día de la Región de Castilla La Mancha
Thursday May 31 Corpus Christi Castilla-La Mancha. second Thursday after Whitsun
Saturday June 09 La Rioja Day Marks the approval of the statute of the autonomous community in 1982
Saturday June 09 Day of Murcia Marks the approval of the statute of the autonomous community in 1982
Wednesday June 13 Feast of St Anthony Ceuta only
Wednesday July 25 St. James' Day Galicia. Feast day of St. James, patron saint of Spain
Saturday July 28 Day of Cantabria Institutions Cantabria only
Monday August 06 Our Lady of Africa Ceuta only. Moved to Monday 6 August
Wednesday August 15 Assumption Day Assumption of Mary
Wednesday August 22 Aid El Kebir Ceuta, Melilla only. Feast of Sacrifice
Sunday September 02 Ceuta Day
Saturday September 08 Day of Asturias Celebrated on the birthday of the Virgin Mary
Saturday September 08 Day of Extremadura Celebrated on the birthday of the Virgin Mary
Sunday September 09 Day of Extremadura Holiday
Tuesday September 11 National Day of Catalonia marks the anniversary of the recapture of Barcelona in 1714
Saturday September 15 Lady of Aparecida The Patron saint of Cantabria
Monday September 17 Day of Melilla Melilla only. Marks the taking of the city by Duke of Medina Sidonia in 1497
Tuesday October 09 Valencian Community Day Anniversary of King James I of Aragons capture of the city from the Moors in 1238
Friday October 12 Hispanic Day Columbus Day
Thursday November 01 All Saints' Day
Friday November 09 Our Lady of the Almudena City of Madrid Only
Monday December 03 Feast of St Francis Xavier Navarra only.
Thursday December 06 Constitution Day
Saturday December 08 Immaculate Conception Day
Tuesday December 25 Christmas Day

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Public holidays are taken on the day they fall and not moved to the following weekend, if they fall on a Saturday or Sunday.
  • Each municipality has a maximum of 13 public holidays a year; up to nine holidays are set by the national government and at least two are chosen locally.
  • The list of regional holidays changes every year, partly because of national holidays falling on Sundays.

Public Holiday News

Translate this page