Public Holidays in Spain in 2012

Spain List of National Public holidays of Spain in 2012

Day Date Holiday Comments
Sunday January 01 New Years Day
Friday January 06 Epiphany Technically not a national holiday, but has been declared a "regional" holiday in all regions.
Tuesday February 28 Andalucía Day Andalucía only
Thursday March 01 Balearic Day
Monday March 19 Father's Day Celebrated on St. Joseph' s day
Monday March 19 St Josephs Day Castilla-La Mancha, Galicia, La Rioja, Madrid, Melilla, Murcia, Valenciana only
Thursday April 05 Maundy Thursday Except Catalonia
Friday April 06 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Tuesday May 01 Labour Day Fiesta del trabajo
Wednesday May 02 Community Festival of Madrid Madrid only. Marks a rebellion against the French during the War of Independence.
Sunday May 06 Mother's Day 1st Sunday in May. Not a public holiday.
Tuesday May 15 Feast of St. Isidro Madrid only. Patron Saint of Madrid.
Thursday May 31 Canary Islands The first session of the autonomous Canary Islands Parliament was May 30, 1983.
Thursday May 31 Castilla-La Mancha Día de la Región de Castilla La Mancha
Saturday June 09 La Rioja Marks the approval of the statute of the autonomous community in 1982
Saturday June 09 Day of Murcia Marks the approval of the statute of the autonomous community in 1982
Wednesday July 25 St James Day Feast day of St. James, patron saint of Spain.
Wednesday August 15 Assumption Day Assumption of Mary
Sunday September 02 Ceuta Day
Saturday September 08 Asturias
Saturday September 08 Extremadura Celebrated on the birthday of the Virgin Mary
Tuesday September 11 National Day of Catalonia marks the anniversary of the recapture of Barcelona in 1714
Tuesday October 09 Valencian Community Day Anniversary of King James I of Aragons capture of the city from the Moors in 1238
Friday October 12 Hispanic Day Columbus Day
Thursday October 25 Day of the Basque Country Euskadi Eguna. Official from 2011.
Thursday November 01 All Saints Day
Friday November 09 Our Lady of the Almudena Madrid Only.
Thursday December 06 Constitution Day
Saturday December 08 Immaculate Conception Day
Tuesday December 25 Christmas Day


National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday


  • Public holidays are taken on the day they fall and not moved to the following weekend, if they fall on a Saturday or Sunday.
  • Each municipality has a maximum of 13 public holidays a year; up to nine holidays are set by the national government and at least two are chosen locally.
  • The list of regional holidays changes every year, partly because of national holidays falling on Sundays.

Translate this page