Public Holidays in Malaysia in 2013

Malaysia List of national public holidays of Malaysia in 2013

Day Date Holiday Comments
Tuesday January 01 New Years Day All regions except Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis, Terengganu
Thursday January 24 Mawlid
Sunday January 27 Thaipusam Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Johor, Negeri Sembilan, Perak, Penang, Selangor only
Friday February 01 Federal Territory Day Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Putrajaya only. Anniversary of the formation of the Kuala Lumpur Federal Territory in 1974
Sunday February 10 Chinese New Year 1st day of 1st lunar month
Monday February 11 Chinese New Year 2nd day of 1st lunar month
Tuesday February 12 Chinese New Year In lieu for 1st day falling on a Sunday. Except Kelantan, Terengganu
Wednesday May 01 Labour Day International Workers Day
Monday May 06 Public Holiday Selangor only. To enable people to vote in elections
Sunday May 12 Mother's Day 2nd Sunday in May. Not a public holiday.
Friday May 24 Wesak Day Birth of Buddha. Observed on the day of the full moon in May
Thursday May 30 Harvest Festival Kaamatan. Sabah and Labuan only
Friday May 31 Harvest Festival Kaamatan. Sabah and Labuan only
Saturday June 01 Birthday of SPB Yang di Pertuan Agong Kings Birthday. 1st Saturday in June
Monday June 03 State Public Holiday Sarawak only. In lieu of Harvest Festival.
Tuesday June 04 State Public Holiday Sarawak only. In lieu of Harvest Festival.
Thursday June 06 Isra and Miraj Kedah, Perlis and Negeri Sembilan only
Wednesday July 10 Beginning of Ramadan Johor, Kedah and Johor, Kedah, Malacca only
Thursday August 08 Hari Raya Aidilfitri Eid Al-Fitr
Friday August 09 Hari Raya Aidilfitri Holiday Second day of holiday for Eid Al-Fitr
Saturday August 31 National Day Independence Day
Monday September 16 Malaysia Day Became a Federal Holiday in 2010
Friday October 11 Malacca Governors Birthday Malacca only.
Tuesday October 15 Hari Raya Haji
Sunday November 03 Deepavali The festival of lights. Except Labuan, Sarawak
Monday November 04 Deepavali (observed) Dewali. Except Labuan, Sarawak
Tuesday November 05 Awal Muharram Islamic New Year
Monday December 09 The Sultan of Johor Hol Johor only. Marks the death of a state Sultan
Wednesday December 11 Birthday of The Sultan of Selangor Selangor only. Always celebrated on 11 December
Wednesday December 25 Christmas Holiday Internationally observed Christian holiday


National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday


  • National holidays are normally observed by most governmental and private organizations.
  • State holidays are normally observed by certain states in Malaysia or when it is relevant to the state itself.
  • The main holy days of each major religion are public holidays, taking place on either the western calendar or religious ones.
  • In the states of Kedah, Kelantan, Johor and Terengganu, the weekend is Friday and Saturday. All other states observe a Saturday and Sunday weekend.

Public Holiday News

Translate this page