Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in Tamil Nadu in 2018

Tamil Nadu Upcoming Public Holidays in Tamil Nadu

Ayudha Puja
Ayudha Puja

18 October 2018 This Regional holiday is Today!. The festival of Dussehra represents the legend of Rama and Ravana symbolizing the trium...

Dussehra
Dussehra

19 October 2018 This Regional holiday is Tomorrow. The festival of Dusseha symbolizes the triumph of good over evil in the legend of Rama ...

Deepavali
Deepavali

6 November 2018 This Regional holiday is in 19 days. Several states. Celebrations revolve around the triumph of good over evil.

India National and Regional Public holidays of Tamil Nadu in 2018

DayDateHolidayComments
Monday January 01 New Year's Day Several states
Sunday January 14 Pongal Also known as Makar Sankranti, Lohri, Bihu, Hadaga, Poki
Monday January 15 Thiruvalluvar Day Puducherry, Tamil Nadu
Tuesday January 16 Uzhavar Tirunal Puducherry, Tamil Nadu only
Friday January 26 Republic Day
Sunday March 18 Ugadi Telugu and Kannada New Year
Thursday March 29 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday March 30 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Sunday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Monday April 02 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Saturday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Saturday April 14 Tamil New Year Puthandu. Tamil Nadu only
Tuesday May 01 May Day Many states
Friday June 15 Idul Fitr Holiday Many states
Saturday June 16 Idul Fitr Many states
Wednesday August 08 Public Holiday Tamil Nadu, Puducherry. Mourn death of Kalaignar Karunanidhi
Wednesday August 15 Independence Day
Friday August 17 Public Holiday Several states. Govt. holiday for funeral of Atal Bihari Vajpayee
Wednesday August 22 Idul Juha Bakrid. Many states
Sunday September 02 Janmashtami Tamil Nadu
Tuesday September 11 Muharram Observed mainly by the Shia Muslim community
Thursday September 13 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Friday September 21 Muharram Many states
Tuesday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Thursday October 18 Ayudha Puja Several states
Friday October 19 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Tuesday November 06 Deepavali Several states
Wednesday November 21 Id-e-Milad
Tuesday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page