Key Cities in India

Information on states and cities in India

India is comprised of 29 states and 7 union territories. There are only four national holidays observed by all states. There are a large number of religious holidays and other regional holidays that can occur in one or many states, sometimes on different days.

Using the table below you can see the main cities in India. Click the city or state name to see the public and regional holidays observed in that state and for that city.

City Region
Agartala Tripura
Aizawl Mizoram
Bengalooru Karnataka
Bhopal Madhya Pradesh
Bhubaneswar Odisha
Chandigarh Haryana
Chandigarh Punjab
Chennai Tamil Nadu
Dehradun Uttarakhand
Dispur Assam
Gandhinagar Gujarat
Gangtok Sikkim
Hyderabad Andhra Pradesh
Hyderabad Telangana
Imphal Manipur
Itanagar Arunachal Pradesh
Jaipur Rajasthan
Kohima Nagaland
Kolkata West Bengal
Lucknow Uttar Pradesh
Mumbai Maharashtra
New Delhi Delhi
Panaji Goa
Patna Bihar
Pondicherry Puducherry
Raipur Chhattisgarh
Ranchi Jharkhand
Shillong Meghalaya
Shimla Himachal Pradesh
Srinagar Jammu and Kashmir
Thiruvananthapuram Kerala

About Public Holidays in India

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page