Public Holidays in Karnataka in 2019

karnataka, India National public holidays of Karnataka, India in 2019

Monday January 14 Jan 14 Sankranti Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Karnataka, Telangana
Saturday January 26 Jan 26 Republic Day
Monday March 04 Mar 4 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Monday April 01 Apr 1 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Saturday April 06 Apr 6 Ugadi Telugu and Kannada New Year. Karnataka, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh
Sunday April 14 Apr 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Tuesday April 16 Apr 16 Basava Jayanthi Karnataka only. The most important festival of the Lingayats. 3rd Vaiskha
Wednesday April 17 Apr 17 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday April 19 Apr 19 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Wednesday May 01 May 1 May Day Many states
Wednesday June 05 Jun 5 Idul Fitr Many states
Monday August 12 Aug 12 Idul Juha Bakrid. Many states
Thursday August 15 Aug 15 Independence Day
Monday September 02 Sep 2 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Tuesday September 10 Sep 10 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Sunday September 29 Sep 29 Mahalaya Karnataka, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Wednesday October 02 Oct 2 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Monday October 07 Oct 7 Ayudha Puja Karnataka, Tamil Nadu
Tuesday October 08 Oct 8 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Sunday October 13 Oct 13 Maharishi Valmiki Birthday Delhi, Haryana, Karnataka, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab
Sunday October 27 Oct 27 Deepavali Karnataka, Maharashtra
Friday November 01 Nov 1 Kannada Rajyothsava Bangalore Only. Karnataka Formation Day
Sunday November 10 Nov 10 Id-e-Milad
Tuesday November 26 Nov 26 Narak Chaturdashi Karnataka
Wednesday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states


National Holiday
Regional Holiday
Not a Public Holiday


  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page