Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in Uttar Pradesh in 2018

uttar_pradesh, India National public holidays of uttar_pradesh, India in 2018

DayDateHolidayComments
Friday January 05 Jan 5 Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti Several states
Friday January 26 Jan 26 Republic Day
Wednesday February 14 Feb 14 Maha Shivratri Several states
Thursday March 01 Mar 1 Doljatra Holi Dahan
Friday March 02 Mar 2 Holi
Wednesday March 21 Mar 21 Hazrat Ali's Birthday Uttar Pradesh only. Son in law of Prophet Muhammad
Sunday March 25 Mar 25 Ram Navami 9th day of the 1st month in the Hindu calendar
Thursday March 29 Mar 29 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday March 30 Mar 30 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Sunday April 01 Apr 1 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Saturday April 14 Apr 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Monday April 30 Apr 30 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Saturday June 16 Jun 16 Idul Fitr Several states
Wednesday August 15 Aug 15 Independence Day
Wednesday August 22 Aug 22 Idul Juha Bakrid. Many states
Sunday August 26 Aug 26 Raksha Bandhan Several states. Shravana Purnima
Monday September 03 Sep 3 Janmashtami Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Friday September 21 Sep 21 Muharram Many states
Tuesday October 02 Oct 2 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Thursday October 18 Oct 18 Mahanavami Several states. Ninth Day of Dussehra
Friday October 19 Oct 19 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Wednesday November 07 Nov 7 Deewali Many states
Thursday November 08 Nov 8 Vishvakarma Day Govardhan Puja
Friday November 09 Nov 9 Bhai Bij Several states
Wednesday November 21 Nov 21 Id-e-Milad
Friday November 23 Nov 23 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Tuesday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday
Regional Holiday
Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.


Translate this page