Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in Meghalaya in 2017

meghalaya, India National public holidays of Meghalaya, India in 2017

DayDateHolidayComments
Sunday January 01 Jan 1 New Years Day Arunachal pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Miizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu only
Thursday January 26 Jan 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Saturday April 01 Apr 1 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Sunday April 09 Apr 9 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday April 14 Apr 14 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday June 26 Jun 26 Idul Fitr Many states
Monday July 17 Jul 17 U Tirot Sing Day Meghalaya
Monday July 24 Jul 24 Behdienkhlam Meghalaya
Tuesday August 15 Aug 15 Independence Day
Saturday September 02 Sep 2 Idul Juha Eid al-Adha
Saturday September 30 Sep 30 Dussehra Vijaya Dashami
Monday October 02 Oct 2 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Wednesday October 18 Oct 18 Deewali Deepawali
Saturday November 04 Nov 4 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of Guru Nanak Sahib, the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Friday November 10 Nov 10 Wangala Festival Meghalaya. Second week of November.
Thursday November 23 Nov 23 Seng Kut Snem Meghalaya
Tuesday December 12 Dec 12 Pa Togan Nengminja Sangma Meghalaya
Monday December 18 Dec 18 Death Anniversary of U SoSo Tham Meghalaya
Monday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states
Saturday December 30 Dec 30 U Kiang Nangbah Meghalaya

Key

National Holiday
Regional Holiday
Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.


Translate this page