Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in Punjab in 2019

Punjab Upcoming Public Holidays in Punjab

Idul Fitr
Eid al-Fitr

5 June 2019 This Regional holiday is in 11 days. Marks the end of the fasting period of the Islamic month of Ramadan

Guru Arjun Dev Martyrdom day
Guru Arjun Dev Martyrdom day

7 June 2019 This Regional holiday is in 13 days. Punjab only. Guru Arjun Dev was the first Sikh martyr, killed in 1606.

Sant Guru Kabir Jayanti
Sant Guru Kabir Jayanti

17 June 2019 This Regional holiday is in 23 days. Birthday of a 15th century mystic and poet. Celebrated on Jyeshtha Purnima

India National and Regional Public holidays of Punjab in 2019

DayDateHolidayComments
Sunday January 13 Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti Some states
Saturday January 26 Republic Day
Tuesday February 19 Guru Ravidas' Birthday Several states. Full moon of Magh
Monday March 04 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Thursday March 21 Holi
Monday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Saturday April 13 Ram Navami Several states
Sunday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Sunday April 14 Vaisakhi Several states
Wednesday April 17 Mahavir Jayanti
Friday April 19 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Wednesday June 05 Idul Fitr Many states
Friday June 07 Guru Arjun Dev Martyrdom day Punjab Only
Monday June 17 Sant Guru Kabir Jayanti Several states
Monday August 12 Idul Juha Bakrid. Many states
Thursday August 15 Independence Day
Saturday August 24 Sreekrishna Jayanthi Several states. Janmashtami
Saturday August 31 Parkash Utsav Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji Punjab only
Sunday September 29 Maharaja Agrasen Jayanati Haryana, Punjab, Rajasthan only
Wednesday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Tuesday October 08 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Sunday October 13 Maharishi Valmiki Birthday Several states
Sunday October 27 Deewali Many states
Monday October 28 Vishvakarma Day Day after Dewali
Tuesday November 12 Guru Nanak Birthday Several States
Sunday December 01 Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji Punjab only
Wednesday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • The 2018 date of holiday for "Birthday of Sri Guru Gobind Singh Ji" will be announced later.
  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page