Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in Punjab in 2018

Punjab Upcoming Public Holidays in Punjab

Guru Nanak Birthday
Guru Nanak Birthday

23 November 2018 This Regional holiday is in 5 days. The Birthday of Guru Nanak Sahib, the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the...

Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji
Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji

12 December 2018 This Regional holiday is in 24 days. Punjab. Guru Teg Bahadur was the ninth of ten Gurus (Prophets) of the Sikh religion

Christmas Day
Christmas Day

25 December 2018 This Regional holiday is in 37 days. The day celebrates the Nativity of Jesus, the date which according to tradition took pl...

India National and Regional Public holidays of Punjab in 2018

DayDateHolidayComments
Friday January 26 Republic Day
Wednesday January 31 Guru Ravidas Birthday Several states. Full moon of Magh
Wednesday February 14 Maha Shivratri Several states
Friday March 02 Holi
Sunday March 25 Ram Navami 9th day of the 1st month in the Hindu calendar
Thursday March 29 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday March 30 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Sunday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Monday April 02 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Saturday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Saturday April 14 Vaisakhi Several states
Saturday June 16 Idul Fitr Several states
Sunday June 17 Guru Arjun Dev Martyrdom day Punjab Only
Thursday June 28 Sant Guru Kabir Jayanti Gazetted holiday in several states
Wednesday August 15 Independence Day
Friday August 17 Public Holiday Several states. For death of Atal Bihari Vajpayee
Wednesday August 22 Idul Juha Bakrid. Many states
Monday September 03 Janmashtami Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Monday September 10 Parkash Utsav Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji Punjab only
Tuesday September 11 Muharram Observed mainly by the Shia Muslim community
Wednesday September 19 Public Holiday Punjab. For general elections
Tuesday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Wednesday October 10 Maharaja Agrasen Jayanati Haryana, Punjab, Rajasthan
Friday October 19 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Wednesday October 24 Maharishi Valmiki Birthday Delhi, Haryana, Karnataka, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab
Wednesday November 07 Deewali Many states
Thursday November 08 Vishvakarma Day Govardhan Puja
Friday November 23 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Wednesday December 12 Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji Punjab only
Tuesday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • The 2018 date of holiday for "Birthday of Sri Guru Gobind Singh Ji" will be announced later.
  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page