Public Holidays in Odisha in 2019

Odisha Upcoming Public Holidays in Odisha

Idul Fitr
Eid al-Fitr

5 June 2019 This Regional holiday is in 10 days. Marks the end of the fasting period of the Islamic month of Ramadan

Pahili Raja
Pahili Raja

14 June 2019 This Regional holiday is in 19 days. Odisha. First day of a traditional festival that welcomes the rainy season

Raja Sankranti
Raja Sankranti

15 June 2019 This Regional holiday is in 20 days. Odisha only. The 'Swing festival' marks the start of the rainy season.

India National and Regional Public holidays of Odisha in 2019

Wednesday January 23 Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti Assam, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal
Saturday January 26 Republic Day
Sunday February 10 Vasant Panchami Several states
Monday March 04 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Tuesday March 05 Panchayati Raj Diwas Odisha
Thursday March 21 Doljatra Holi Dahan
Friday March 22 Holi Bihar, Odisha
Monday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Monday April 01 Odisha Day Odisha only. Utkal Divas
Sunday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Sunday April 14 Maha Vishuba Sankranti Odisha
Sunday April 14 Ram Navami Many states
Friday April 19 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Wednesday June 05 Idul Fitr Many states
Friday June 14 Pahili Raja Odisha
Saturday June 15 Raja Sankranti Odisha only
Thursday July 04 Ratha Yatra Odisha
Monday August 12 Idul Juha Bakrid. Many states
Thursday August 15 Independence Day
Friday August 23 Janmashtami Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Monday September 02 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Tuesday September 03 Nuakhai Odisha only. Day after Ganesh Chaturthi
Monday September 09 Muharram Kerala, Odisha
Saturday September 28 Mahalaya Karnataka, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Wednesday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Saturday October 05 Maha Saptami Several states
Sunday October 06 Durgastami Several states
Monday October 07 Mahanavami Some states. Ninth Day of Dussehra
Tuesday October 08 Durga Puja Mahastami. Odisha, Sikkim only
Tuesday October 08 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Sunday October 13 Lakshmi Puja Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Sunday October 27 Deewali Many states
Sunday October 27 Kali Puja Assam, Odisha, West Bengal
Sunday November 10 Id-e-Milad
Tuesday November 12 Rasa Purnima Odisha only
Wednesday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states


National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday


  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page