Public Holidays in Odisha in 2016

India National and Regional Public holidays of Odisha in 2016

Saturday January 23 Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti Assam, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal
Tuesday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Friday February 12 Vasant Panchami Haryana, Odisha, Punjab, Tripura
Saturday March 05 Panchayati Raj Diwas Odisha
Monday March 07 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Wednesday March 09 Solar Eclipse Odisha
Wednesday March 23 Doljatra Holi Dahan
Thursday March 24 Holi
Friday March 25 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Friday April 01 Odisha Day Odisha only. Utkal Divas
Friday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Wednesday April 13 Maha Vishuba Sankranti Odisha
Thursday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Friday April 15 Ram Navami Celebrates the birth of Lord Rama to King Dasharatha of Ayodhya
Tuesday June 14 Pahili Raja Odisha
Wednesday June 15 Raja Sankranti Odisha only
Wednesday July 06 Ratha Yatra Odisha
Thursday July 07 Ramzan Many states
Monday August 15 Independence Day
Wednesday August 24 Sreekrishna Jayanthi Kerala, Odisha. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Monday September 05 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Tuesday September 06 Nuakhai Odisha only. Harvest Festival. Day after Ganesh Chaturthi
Tuesday September 13 Bakrid Gujurat, Maharashtra, Odisha, Telangana, Tamil Nadu
Friday September 30 Mahalaya Karnataka, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Sunday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Saturday October 08 Maha Saptami Assam, Odisha, West Bengal
Sunday October 09 Durgastami Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Odisha, Telangana, West Bengal
Monday October 10 Mahanavami Bihar, Kerala, Odisha only. Ninth Day of Dussehra
Tuesday October 11 Vijaya Dashami Assam, Bihar, Kerala, Odisha, Telangana, Tripura, Sikkim. Dussehra
Wednesday October 12 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Wednesday October 12 Durga Puja Mahastami. Odisha, Sikkim only
Saturday October 15 Lakshmi Puja Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Saturday October 29 Kali Puja Assam, Odisha, West Bengal
Sunday October 30 Deewali Deepawali. Except Assam, Goa, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal.
Monday November 14 Rasa Purnima Odisha only
Monday December 12 Id-e-Milad
Sunday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states


National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday


  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page