Public Holidays in Meghalaya in 2018

India National and Regional Public holidays of Meghalaya in 2018

Monday January 01 Jan 1 New Year's Day Several states
Friday January 26 Jan 26 Republic Day
Friday March 02 Mar 2 Holi
Friday March 30 Mar 30 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Sunday April 01 Apr 1 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Saturday June 16 Jun 16 Idul Fitr Several states
Tuesday July 03 Jul 3 Behdienkhlam Meghalaya
Tuesday July 17 Jul 17 U Tirot Sing Day Meghalaya
Wednesday August 15 Aug 15 Independence Day
Wednesday August 22 Aug 22 Idul Juha Bakrid. Many states
Monday September 03 Sep 3 Janmashtami Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Tuesday September 11 Sep 11 Muharram Observed mainly by the Shia Muslim community
Tuesday October 02 Oct 2 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Thursday October 18 Oct 18 Mahanavami Several states. Ninth Day of Dussehra
Friday October 19 Oct 19 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Wednesday November 07 Nov 7 Deewali Many states
Friday November 09 Nov 9 Wangala Festival Meghalaya. Second week of November.
Friday November 23 Nov 23 Seng Kut Snem Meghalaya
Wednesday December 12 Dec 12 Pa Togan Nengminja Sangma Meghalaya
Tuesday December 18 Dec 18 Death Anniversary of U SoSo Tham Meghalaya
Monday December 24 Dec 24 Christmas Eve Meghalaya, Mizoram
Tuesday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states
Wednesday December 26 Dec 26 Boxing Day Meghalaya, Mizoram, Telangana
Thursday December 27 Dec 27 Christmas Festival Meghalaya
Sunday December 30 Dec 30 U Kiang Nangbah Meghalaya


National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday


  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page