Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in Madhya Pradesh in 2018

India National and Regional Public holidays of Madhya Pradesh in 2018

DayDateHolidayComments
Friday January 26 Jan 26 Republic Day
Tuesday February 13 Feb 13 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Thursday March 01 Mar 1 Doljatra Holi Dahan
Sunday March 25 Mar 25 Ram Navami 9th day of the 1st month in the Hindu calendar
Thursday March 29 Mar 29 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Sunday April 01 Apr 1 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Monday April 30 Apr 30 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Friday June 15 Jun 15 Idul Fitr Many states
Wednesday August 15 Aug 15 Independence Day
Wednesday August 22 Aug 22 Idul Juha Bakrid. Many states
Sunday August 26 Aug 26 Raksha Bandhan Several states. Shravana Purnima
Monday September 03 Sep 3 Janmashtami Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Thursday September 20 Sep 20 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Tuesday October 02 Oct 2 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Friday October 19 Oct 19 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Wednesday November 07 Nov 7 Deewali Many states
Wednesday November 21 Nov 21 Id-e-Milad
Friday November 23 Nov 23 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.


Translate this page