Social

Options

Advertisements


Public Holidays in Goa in 2018

Goa Upcoming Public Holidays in Goa

Idul Fitr
Idul Fitr

16 June 2018 This Regional holiday is in 22 days. Several states. Marks the end of the fasting period of the Islamic month of Ramadan

Independence Day
Independence Day

15 August 2018 This National holiday is in 82 days. On the 15th of August 1947, India became completely independent

Idul Juha
Idul Juha

22 August 2018 This Regional holiday is in 89 days. Commemorates the Prophet Abrahams willingness to sacrifice everything for God

India National and Regional Public holidays of Goa in 2018

DayDateHolidayComments
Friday January 26 Republic Day
Tuesday February 13 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Friday March 02 Holi
Sunday March 18 Gudi Padwa Telugu and Kannada New Year. Goa
Friday March 30 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Sunday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Saturday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Tuesday May 01 May Day Many states
Saturday June 16 Idul Fitr Several states
Wednesday August 15 Independence Day
Wednesday August 22 Idul Juha Bakrid. Many states
Thursday September 13 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Tuesday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Thursday October 18 Dusshera Vijaya Dashmi. Several states
Tuesday November 06 Deepavali Several states
Wednesday November 21 Id-e-Milad
Monday December 03 Feast of St Francis Xavier Goa only.
Wednesday December 19 Goa Liberation Day Goa only
Tuesday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page