Social

Options

Advertisements


Public Holidays in Goa in 2019

Goa Upcoming Public Holidays in Goa

Idul Fitr
Idul Fitr

5 June 2019 This Regional holiday is in 13 days. Marks the end of the fasting period of the Islamic month of Ramadan

Id-ul-Ad'ha
Id-ul-Ad'ha

11 August 2019 This Regional holiday is in 80 days. Goa, Kerala. Commemorates the Prophet Abrahams willingness to sacrifice everything for God

Independence Day
Independence Day

15 August 2019 This National holiday is in 84 days. On the 15th of August 1947, India became completely independent from Great Britain

India National and Regional Public holidays of Goa in 2019

DayDateHolidayComments
Saturday January 26 Republic Day
Friday February 15 State Holiday Goa. Govt. and educational institutes
Monday March 18 State Holiday Goa. Govt. and educational institutes
Thursday March 21 Holi
Monday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Saturday April 06 Gudi Padwa Telugu and Kannada New Year. Goa, Maharashtra
Thursday April 11 Public Holiday Goa. For Lok Sahba elections
Sunday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Friday April 19 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Wednesday May 01 May Day Many states
Wednesday June 05 Idul Fitr Many states
Sunday August 11 Id-ul-Ad'ha Goa, Kerala
Thursday August 15 Independence Day
Monday September 02 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Tuesday September 03 Ganesh Chaturthi Holiday Goa only
Wednesday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Tuesday October 08 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Sunday October 27 Deewali Many states
Tuesday December 03 Feast of St Francis Xavier Goa only
Thursday December 19 Goa Liberation Day Goa only
Wednesday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page