Public Holidays in Delhi in 2014

India National and Regional Public holidays of Delhi in 2014

Tuesday January 14 Milad-un-Nabi
Sunday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Monday March 17 Holi
Tuesday April 08 Ram Navami Celebrates the birth of Lord Rama to King Dasharatha of Ayodhya
Thursday April 10 Public Holiday Delhi. Allow voting in Lok Sabha elections
Sunday April 13 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday April 18 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Wednesday May 14 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Tuesday July 29 Idul Fitr All states except Goa, Jharkhand
Friday August 15 Independence Day
Monday August 18 Janmashtami Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Thursday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Friday October 03 Dussehra Vijaya Dashami
Monday October 06 Idul Juha Bakrid.
Wednesday October 08 Maharishi Valmiki Birthday Delhi, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Punjab.
Thursday October 23 Deewali Deepawali. Except Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal.
Wednesday October 29 Chhath Puja Delhi only
Tuesday November 04 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Thursday November 06 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of Guru Nanak Sahib, the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik


National Holiday Regional Holiday


  • The 2018 date of holiday for "Birthday of Sri Guru Gobind Singh Ji" will be announced later.
  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page