Social

Options

Advertisements


Bank Holidays in Assam in 2018

Assam Upcoming Public Holidays in Assam

Guru Nanak Birthday
Guru Nanak Birthday

23 November 2018 This Regional holiday is in 5 days. The Birthday of Guru Nanak Sahib, the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the...

Lachit Divas
Lachit Divas

24 November 2018 This Regional holiday is in 6 days. Assam only. Lachit Borphukan was a legendary general in 17th century Assam

Asom Divas
Asom Divas

2 December 2018 This Regional holiday is in 14 days. Commemorates the advent of the first king of the Ahom kingdom in Assam

India National and Regional Public holidays of Assam in 2018

DayDateHolidayComments
Sunday January 14 Sankranti Several states
Monday January 15 Tusu Puja Assam
Tuesday January 23 Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti Assam, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal. Birthday of a prominent leader in the Indian freedom movement
Friday January 26 Republic Day
Wednesday January 31 Me-dam-me-phi Assam. Ancestor festival
Thursday March 01 Doljatra Holi Dahan
Friday March 30 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Sunday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Saturday April 14 Bohag Bihu Holiday Assamese New Year
Sunday April 15 Bohag Bihu Arunachal Pradesh, Assam only
Monday April 16 Bohag Bihu Holiday Assam only
Monday April 16 Tithi of Damodar Deva Assam only
Monday April 30 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Tuesday May 01 May Day Many states
Wednesday May 30 Janmotsav of Sri Sri Madhav Dev Assam only
Saturday June 16 Idul Fitr Several states
Wednesday August 15 Independence Day
Wednesday August 22 Idul Juha Bakrid. Many states
Friday August 31 Tithi of Sri Sri Madhav Dev Assam only
Monday September 03 Janmashtami Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Tuesday September 11 Muharram Observed mainly by the Shia Muslim community
Tuesday September 11 Tithi of Shrimanta Shankar Dev Assam only
Wednesday September 19 Janmostav of Srimatna Sankardev Assam only
Tuesday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Tuesday October 16 Maha Saptami Several states
Wednesday October 17 Durgastami Several states
Thursday October 18 Navami of Durga Puja Several states
Thursday October 18 Kati Bihu Assam only
Friday October 19 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Tuesday November 06 Kali Puja Assam, West Bengal
Tuesday November 06 Deepavali Several states
Friday November 23 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Saturday November 24 Lachit Divas Assam only
Sunday December 02 Asom Divas Assam only
Tuesday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page