Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in India in 2016

India List of National and regional Public holidays of India in 2016

Day Date Holiday Comments
Friday January 01 New Years Day Arunachal pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Miizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Telangana
Saturday January 02 Mannam Jayanthi Kerala Only
Monday January 11 Missionary Day Mizoram
Tuesday January 12 Birthday of Swami Vivekananda West Bengal only.
Thursday January 14 Bhogi Telangana
Thursday January 14 Pongal Also known as Makar Sankranti, Lohri, Bihu, Hadaga, Poki
Friday January 15 Pongal Tamil Nadu
Friday January 15 Sankranti Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Karnataka, Telangana
Saturday January 16 Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Rajasthan. Birthday of the final Sikh prophet-teacher
Saturday January 16 Thiruvalluvar Day Tamil Nadu only
Saturday January 16 Tusu Puja Assam
Sunday January 17 Uzhavar Tirunal Puducherry, Tamil Nadu only
Saturday January 23 Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti Assam, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal. Birthday of a prominent leader in the Indian freedom movement
Monday January 25 Statehood Day Himachal Pradesh only
Tuesday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Thursday January 28 Birthday of Lala Lajpat Rai 150th year anniversary
Sunday January 31 Me-dam-me-phi Assam. Ancestor festival
Tuesday February 02 Public Holiday Voting in GHMC elections
Tuesday February 09 Losar Sikkim only. Tibetan New Year
Tuesday February 09 Sonam Lhochar Sikkim only. Tamang New Year
Friday February 12 Vasant Panchami Haryana, Odisha, Punjab, Tripura
Friday February 12 Sir Chhotu Ram Jayanti Haryana only
Saturday February 13 Sree Panchami West Bengal
Friday February 19 Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti Maharashtra only
Monday February 22 Guru Ravidas Birthday Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab only
Friday March 04 Maharshi Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti Haryana only
Saturday March 05 Panchayati Raj Diwas Odisha
Monday March 07 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Wednesday March 09 Solar Eclipse Odisha
Tuesday March 22 Bihar Divas Bihar Only
Wednesday March 23 Doljatra Holi Dahan
Wednesday March 23 Shahidi Divas S. Bhagat Singh Ji Punjab, Rajasthan only
Wednesday March 23 Shaheedi Diwas of Bhagat Singh, Rajguru & Sukhdev Haryana only
Thursday March 24 Holi
Thursday March 24 Maundy Thursday Kerala only
Friday March 25 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Friday April 01 Odisha Day Odisha only. Utkal Divas
Friday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Tuesday April 05 Babu Jagjivan Ram Birthday Telangana only
Friday April 08 Ugadi Telugu and Kannada New Year
Friday April 08 Cheti Chand Gujarat only.
Wednesday April 13 Vaisakhi Haryana, Punjab only
Wednesday April 13 Bohag Bihu Holiday Assam only
Wednesday April 13 Biju Festival Tripura only
Wednesday April 13 Maha Vishuba Sankranti Odisha
Thursday April 14 Tamil New Year Puthandu. Tamil Nadu only
Thursday April 14 Bengali New Year Tripura, West Bengal only
Thursday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Thursday April 14 Vishu Kerala Only. First day of Tulu calendar
Thursday April 14 Bohag Bihu Assamese New Year. Arunachal Pradesh, Assam
Thursday April 14 Ashoka's Birth Anniversary Bihar only
Friday April 15 Ram Navami Celebrates the birth of Lord Rama to King Dasharatha of Ayodhya
Friday April 15 Himachal Day Himachal Pradesh only. The province of Himachal Pradesh was created on 15 April 1948
Friday April 15 Bohag Bihu Holiday Assam only
Tuesday April 19 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Wednesday April 20 Garia Puja Tripura only
Thursday April 21 Hazrat Alis Birthday Uttar Pradesh only. Son in law of Prophet Muhammad
Sunday May 01 Maharashtra Day Maharashtra only. Commemorates the formation of the state of Maharashtra on 1 May 1960
Sunday May 01 May Day Many states
Sunday May 08 Birthday of Rabindra Nath Tagore Tripura, West Bengal. A Bengali polymath who reshaped literature and music.
Sunday May 08 Parashurama Jayanti Himachal Pradesh only
Monday May 09 Parashurama Jayanti Haryana, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh only
Monday May 09 Basava Jayanthi Karnataka only. The most important festival of the Lingayats.
Monday May 16 State Day Sikkim only
Monday May 16 Public Holiday Kerala only. Allow voting in Assembly elections
Saturday May 21 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Wednesday May 25 Birthday of Kazi Nazrul Islam Tripura only.
Tuesday June 07 Maharana Pratap Jayanti Haryana, Himachal Pradesh only
Wednesday June 08 Guru Arjun Dev Martyrdom day Punjab Only
Tuesday June 14 Pahili Raja Odisha
Wednesday June 15 Raja Sankranti Odisha only
Monday June 20 Sant Guru Kabir Jayanti Gazetted holiday in Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab.
Friday July 01 Jumat-ul-Wida Last Friday of Ramadam
Wednesday July 06 Idul Fitr Many states
Wednesday July 06 Ratha Yatra Odisha
Wednesday July 06 MHIP Day Mizoram
Thursday July 07 Ramzan Many states
Friday July 08 Ramzan Telengana
Tuesday July 12 Kharchi Puja Tripura only
Tuesday July 26 Ker Puja Tripura only
Sunday July 31 Martyrdom Day of Shaheed Udham Singh Punjab only
Monday August 01 Bonalu
Tuesday August 02 Karkkadaka Vavu Kerala
Monday August 15 Independence Day
Wednesday August 17 Parsi New Year Jamshed Navroz. Gujarat, Mumbai Only
Thursday August 18 Raksha Bandhan Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh only.
Wednesday August 24 Sreekrishna Jayanthi Kerala, Odisha. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Thursday August 25 Janmashtami Restricted Holiday. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Friday September 02 Parkash Utsav Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji Punjab only
Saturday September 03 Tithi of Shrimanta Shankar Dev Assam only
Sunday September 04 Teej Haryana only
Monday September 05 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Tuesday September 06 Nuakhai Odisha only. Harvest Festival. Day after Ganesh Chaturthi
Tuesday September 06 Ganesh Chaturthi Holiday Goa only
Saturday September 10 Birthday of Baba Sri Chand Ji Punjab only
Monday September 12 Idul Juha Bakrid. Except Gujarat, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Sikkim.
Tuesday September 13 First Onam Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Tuesday September 13 Bakrid Gujurat, Maharashtra, Odisha, Telangana, Tamil Nadu
Wednesday September 14 Thiruvonam Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Thursday September 15 Third Onam Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Friday September 16 Sree Narayana Guru Jayanti Kerala only. Marks the birth of a key social reformer
Friday September 16 Fourth Onam Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Wednesday September 21 Sree Narayana Guru Samadhi Kerala only. Marks the death of a key social reformer
Friday September 23 Haryana's Heroes' Martyrdom Day Haryana only
Wednesday September 28 Birthday of S. Bhagat Singh Ji Punjab only
Wednesday September 28 Birthday of S. Bhagat Singh Ji Punjab only
Friday September 30 Mahalaya Karnataka, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Saturday October 01 Maharaja Agrasen Jayanati Haryana, Punjab, Rajasthan only
Sunday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Sunday October 02 Muharram Observed mainly by the Shia Muslim community
Saturday October 08 Maha Saptami Assam, Odisha, West Bengal
Saturday October 08 Panchami West Bengal
Sunday October 09 Durgastami Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Odisha, Telangana, West Bengal
Monday October 10 Ayudha Puja Karnataka, Tamil Nadu
Monday October 10 Navami of Durga Puja Assam, Tripura,West Bengal
Monday October 10 Mahanavami Bihar, Kerala, Odisha only. Ninth Day of Dussehra
Tuesday October 11 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Tuesday October 11 Vijaya Dashami Assam, Bihar, Kerala, Odisha, Telangana, Tripura, Sikkim. Dussehra
Wednesday October 12 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Wednesday October 12 Durga Puja Mahastami. Odisha, Sikkim only
Thursday October 13 Durga Puja Holiday Tripura only
Friday October 14 Durga Puja Holiday Tripura only
Saturday October 15 Maharishi Valmiki Birthday Delhi, Haryana, Karnataka
Saturday October 15 Lakshmi Puja Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Sunday October 16 Maharishi Valmiki Birthday Himachal Pradesh, Punjab
Monday October 17 Parkash Gurpurab of Sri Guru Ram Dass Ji Punjab only
Saturday October 29 Narak Chaturdashi Karnataka
Saturday October 29 Deepavali Assam, Goa, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Tripura
Saturday October 29 Kali Puja Assam, Odisha, West Bengal. Festival dedicated to the Hindu goddess Kali
Sunday October 30 Deewali Deepawali. Except Assam, Goa, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal.
Monday October 31 Vikram Samvat New Year Gujarat only.
Monday October 31 Deepavali Karnataka, Maharashtra
Monday October 31 Vishvakarma Day Punjab, Rajasthan
Tuesday November 01 Bhai Bij Gujarat only.
Tuesday November 01 Kannada Rajyothsava Bangalore Only. Karnataka Formation Day
Tuesday November 01 Haryana Day Haryana only.
Tuesday November 01 Vishvakarma Day Haryana only
Sunday November 06 Chhath Puja Assam, Bihar, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh
Monday November 07 Chhath Puja Bihar only
Monday November 14 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Monday November 14 Rasa Purnima Odisha only
Thursday November 17 Kanakadasa Jayanthi Karnataka only. Not a public holiday in 2016 due to banking crisis
Saturday December 03 World Disabled Day Tripura only
Saturday December 03 Feast of St Francis Xavier Goa only.
Sunday December 04 Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji Punjab only
Tuesday December 06 Public Holiday Kerala, Tamil Nadu. To mourn the death of Jayalalithaa
Monday December 12 Id-e-Milad
Tuesday December 13 Id-e-Milad Madhya Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh
Monday December 19 Goa Liberation Day Goa only
Sunday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states
Monday December 26 Shaheed Udham Singh's Birthday Haryana only
Monday December 26 Boxing Day

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Public Holiday News

Translate this page