Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in Iceland in 2018

Iceland Upcoming Holidays in Iceland

May Day
May Day

1 May 2018 This National holiday is in 8 days. This holiday is most commonly associated as a commemoration of the achievements of the ...

Ascension Day
Ascension Day

10 May 2018 This National holiday is in 17 days. Commemorates the ascension of Jesus into heaven forty two days after his crucifixion

Whit Monday
Whit Monday

21 May 2018 This National holiday is in 28 days. Commemorates the coming of the Holy Spirit in the form of flames to the Apostles.

Iceland List of national public holidays of Iceland in 2018

Day Date Holiday Comments
Monday January 01 New Year's Day
Thursday March 29 Maundy Thursday The Thursday before Easter Sunday
Friday March 30 Good Friday The Friday before Easter Sunday
Sunday April 01 Easter Sunday
Monday April 02 Easter Monday Monday after Easter Sunday
Thursday April 19 First Day of Summer Thursday after 18 April
Tuesday May 01 May Day
Thursday May 10 Ascension Day 40 days after Easter
Sunday May 13 Mother's Day 2nd Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Monday May 21 Whit Monday 7th Monday after Easter. Also Known as Pentecost Monday
Sunday June 17 Independence Day Independence from Denmark in 1944
Monday August 06 Commerce Day 1st Monday in August
Sunday November 11 Father's Day 2nd Sunday in November. Not a public holiday
Monday December 24 Christmas Eve Afternoon Only
Tuesday December 25 Christmas Day
Wednesday December 26 St Stephens Day
Monday December 31 New Years Eve Afternoon only

Key

National Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Holidays are observed on their calendar date. If the date of a holiday falls on a Saturday or Sunday, then the holiday will generally not be moved to a weekday.

Translate this page