States and key cities in Germany for 2016

Information on states and cities in Germany

Germany is comprised of of sixteen federal states. There are only a few key national holidays observed by all regions.

Using the table below you can see which is the main city in each state and click the state or city name to see the public holidays observed in that region or city.

Region City
Baden-Württemberg Stuttgart
Bavaria Munich
Berlin Berlin
Brandenburg Potsdam
Bremen Bremen
Hamburg Hamburg
Hesse Wiesbaden
Lower Saxony Hanover
Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Schwerin
North Rhine-Westphalia Düsseldorf
Rhineland-Palatinate Mainz
Saarland Saarbrücken
Saxony Dresden
Saxony-Anhalt Magdeburg
Schleswig-Holstein Kiel
Thuringia Erfurt

About Public Holidays in Germany

  • Except for German Unity Day, public holidays in Germany are determined by the federal states.
  • Holidays that fall on a weekend are not observed on a weekday instead.

Translate this page