Social

Options

Advertisements

Bank Holidays in France in 2018

France When is the next public hHoliday in France?

Bastille Day
Bastille Day

14 July 2018 This National holiday is in 49 days. Bastille Day celebrates the birth of the French Republic and marks the storming of the ...

Assumption Day
Assumption of Mary

15 August 2018 This National holiday is in 81 days. The Feast of the Assumption is the principal feast of the Blessed Virgin, the mother of...

All Saints Day
All Saints' Day

1 November 2018 This National holiday is in 159 days. Pope Boniface IV dedicated the day as a holiday to honour the Blessed Virgin Mary and a...

France List of national bank holidays of France in 2018

Day Date Holiday Comments
Monday January 01 New Year's Day
Friday March 30 Good Friday Alsace and Moselle
Monday April 02 Easter Monday Lundi de Páques
Tuesday May 01 Labour Day
Tuesday May 08 V-E Day
Thursday May 10 Ascension Day 40 days after Easter
Monday May 21 Whit Monday 7th Monday after Easter. Also Known as Pentecost Monday
Sunday May 27 Mother's Day Last Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Sunday June 17 Father's Day 3rd Sunday in June. Not a public holiday
Saturday July 14 Bastille Day French National Day
Wednesday August 15 Assumption Day Assumption of Mary
Thursday November 01 All Saints Day
Sunday November 11 Armistice Day
Tuesday December 25 Christmas Day
Wednesday December 26 St Stephens Day Celebrated on 26th December. Alsace and Moselle

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • French fixed Public Holidays that fall on a Sunday are celebrated on the following Monday.
  • No time off in lieu is granted when a Public Holiday falls on a Saturday.
  • If a public holiday falls on a Thursday, it is common for many workers to take the Friday as a 'pont' (bridge) to create a long weekend.
  • Only Labour Day (May 1st) is a statutory public holiday in France. The rest of the holidays are granted byagreement between employers' and employees' unions or by agreement of the employer.

Translate this page