Social

Options

Advertisements


Statutory Holidays in Canada in 2016

Canada List of National and regional statutory holidays of Canada in 2016

Day Date Holiday Comments
Friday January 01 New Years Day
Monday February 08 Family Day Statutory holiday in British Columbia
Monday February 15 Family Day 3rd Monday in February. Statutory holiday in Alberta, Manitoba, Nova Scotia, Ontario, and Saskatchewan.
Friday March 25 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday. Statutory, except in Quebec where Easter Monday can be taken as alternative
Monday March 28 Easter Monday Quebec. Companies can choose between Good Friday or Easter Monday
Sunday May 08 Mother's Day 2nd Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Monday May 23 Victoria Day Monday on or before May 24. Statutory, except in New Brunswick, Nova Scotia
Monday May 23 National Patriots' Day Quebec only. Commemoration of the Lower Canada Rebellion in 1837
Sunday June 19 Father's Day 3rd Sunday in June. Not a public holiday
Tuesday June 21 National Aboriginal Day Northwest Territories. Provincial Statutory Holiday
Friday June 24 The National Holiday of Quebec Quebec only
Monday June 27 Discovery Day Monday nearest June 24th. Newfoundland and Labrador only
Friday July 01 Canada Day
Saturday July 09 Nunavut Day Nunavut only. Not a holiday for Federal employees
Monday July 11 Orangeman's Day Newfoundland and Labrador
Monday August 01 Civic Day First Monday in August
Monday August 15 Discovery Day Monday nearest August 17th. Yukon only
Monday September 05 Labour Day First Monday in September
Monday October 10 Thanksgiving 2nd Monday in October. Statutory, except in New Brunswick, Newfoundland, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island
Friday November 11 Remembrance Day Statutory holiday everywhere except Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, and Nova Scotia
Sunday December 25 Christmas Day
Monday December 26 Boxing Day Statutory in Ontario and federal jurisdictions and Saskatchewan
Monday December 26 Christmas Day (in lieu) New Brunswick
Tuesday December 27 Christmas Day (in lieu) Saskatchewan. Next working day after December 25

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • In Canada, public holidays are known as statutory holidays

Translate this page