Social

Options

Advertisements


Public Holidays in Bangladesh in 2018

Bangladesh Upcoming Holidays in Bangladesh

Note Observance of fasting during the month of Ramadan is currently in effect. This may affect the length of working hours.

Night of Destiny
Night of Destiny

12 June 2018 This National holiday is in 17 days. The night that the first verses of the Qu'ran were revealed to the Prophet Mohammad

Jumatul Bidah
Jumatul Bidah

15 June 2018 This National holiday is in 20 days. Jumatul Bidah translates as 'Friday of farewell' and marks the last Friday prayers in t...

Eid ul-Fitr Holiday
Eid al-Fitr Holiday

15 June 2018 This National holiday is in 20 days. First day of holidays for the festival of Eid al-Fitr, marking the end of Ramadan

Bangladesh List of National Public holidays of Bangladesh in 2018

Day Date Holiday Comments
Wednesday February 21 Language Martyrs' Day International Mother Language Day
Saturday March 17 Sheikh Mujibur Rahman's birthday Father of Nation of Bangladesh
Monday March 26 Independence Day Declaration of Independence from Pakistan in 1971
Saturday April 14 Bengali New Year Pahela Boishakh
Sunday April 29 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Tuesday May 01 May Day International Labour Day
Wednesday May 02 Shab e-Barat Public Sector and Banks. Celebrated on the 15th Sha'aban
Tuesday June 12 Night of Destiny Celebrated on the 27th day of Ramadan
Friday June 15 Jumatul Bidah Last Friday of the month of Ramadan
Friday June 15 Eid ul-Fitr Holiday
Saturday June 16 Eid ul-Fitr End of Ramadan
Sunday June 17 Eid ul-Fitr Holiday
Wednesday August 15 National Mourning Day Sheikh Mujibur Rahman and his family were killed in 1975
Tuesday August 21 Eid ul-Adha Holiday Date varies on Lunar cycle
Wednesday August 22 Eid ul-Adha Date varies on Lunar cycle
Thursday August 23 Eid ul-Adha Day 2 Date varies on Lunar cycle
Sunday September 02 Janmashtami
Friday September 21 Ashura 10th day of Muharram
Friday October 19 Durga Puja
Wednesday November 21 Eid e-Milad-un Nabi
Sunday December 16 Victory Day Commemorates the surrender of the Pakistani army to the Mukti Bahini
Tuesday December 25 Christmas Day

Key

National Holiday Government/Public Sector

Notes

  • Friday and Saturday are weekends

Public Holiday News

Translate this page