Regions and key cities in Australia

Information on states and cities in Australia

Australia is comprised of six states and various territories. There are seven key national holidays observed by all states. There are some regional holidays that occur in only one state or in the case of Labour Day, each state observes it as a holiday, but on different days.

Using the table below you can see which is the main city in each state and click the state name or the city to see the public holidays observed in that state or city.

Region City Comments
ACT ACT Canberra Australian Capital Territory
New South Wales New South Wales Sydney Sydney is Australia's most populous city
Northern Territory Northern Territory Darwin The least populous of Australia's eight major states and territories
Queensland Queensland Brisbane Queensland is home to 10 of Australia's 30 largest cities
South Australia South Australia Adelaide Adelaide was named in honour of the queen consort to King William IV
Tasmania Tasmania Hobart The island of Tasmania is the 26th largest island in the world
Victoria Victoria Melbourne Victoria is Australia's most densely populated state
Western Australia Western Australia Perth 92% of the population lives in the south-west corner of the state

About Public Holidays in Australia

  • Public holidays are declared on a state and territory basis, with the exception of the seven national public holidays

Translate this page