Queen's Birthday in Australia

Australian Public Holidays in 2019 Public Holiday in Australia

The official birthday of Queen Elizabeth II is a public holiday in Australia

When is Queen's Birthday in Australia?

How long until Queen's Birthday?
This holiday next takes place in 16 Days.
Queen's Birthday in Australia in 2019
State Date
New South Wales
Northern Territory
South Australia
June 10th
Western Australia September 30th
Queensland October 7th
The Queens Birthday holiday is a moveable feast celebrating the birthday of Queen Elizabeth II

The Queen's Birthday holiday is a moveable feast celebrating the birthday of Queen Elizabeth II who is not only Queen of Great Britain but also Queen of Australia.

In Australia, except in the states of Queensland and Western Australia, it is celebrated on the second Monday of June.

The holiday also marks the start of the Australian ski season.

On this day, businesses will generally be closed. Shops may open, but observe restricted trading hours. Transport may operate on a Saturday or reduced timetable.

In Queensland, the Queen's Birthday was moved to the first Monday in October from 2016.

In Western Australia, the Queen's Birthday holiday is celebrated in either late September or early October.

Did you know?

The Queen's actual birthday is neither in June, September or October but in April.

History of the Queen's Birthday in Australia

The sovereign's birthday has been officially celebrated since 1748. It is a tradition that if a British monarch has a birthday that doesn't fall in the UK summer months, they can have a second official birthday. This is because having a summer birthday means a higher chance of good weather during the Trooping the Colour parade for the monarch's birthday.

Elizabeth Alexandra Mary of the House of Windsor was born on April 21st, 1926.

In 1952, after the death of her father, King George VI, Elizabeth succeeded to the throne and was known thereafter as Queen Elizabeth II.

The Queen is the monarch of 16 countries, the United Kingom and 15 commonwealth realms.

Queen Elizabeth II continues to reign as Queen of Australia after a referendum in 1999 which resulted in the retention of Australia's constitutional monarchy.

Related Holidays

Translate this page