Public Holidays in Australia in 2018

Australia List of National and Regional Public holidays of Australia in 2018

Day Date Holiday Comments
Monday January 01 New Year's Day
Friday January 26 Australia Day 26 January or, if that day falls on weekend, the following Monday
Monday March 05 Labour Day 1st Monday in March. WA only
Monday March 12 Adelaide Cup 2nd Monday in March. South Australia
Monday March 12 Canberra Day 2nd Monday in March. ACT
Monday March 12 Labour Day 2nd Monday in March. Victoria
Monday March 12 Eight Hours Day 2nd Monday in March. Tasmania
Friday March 30 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Saturday March 31 Easter Saturday Public Holiday in all states exc. Tasmania and WA
Sunday April 01 Easter Sunday Public Holiday in ACT, NSW, QLD, VIC
Monday April 02 Easter Monday Monday after Easter Sunday
Tuesday April 03 Easter Tuesday Tasmania. Government only
Wednesday April 25 Anzac Day
Monday May 07 Labour Day 1st Monday in May. QLD, NT Only
Sunday May 13 Mother's Day 2nd Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Monday May 28 Reconciliation Day ACT Only. Monday on or after 27 May
Monday June 04 Western Australia Day First Monday in June. WA only
Monday June 11 Queens Birthday 2nd Monday in June. except QLD, WA
Monday August 06 Picnic Day 1st Monday in August. NT Only
Monday August 06 Bank Holiday New South Wales. Banks only
Wednesday August 15 Ekka People's Day Royal Queensland Show. Brisbane only
Sunday September 02 Father's Day 1st Sunday in September. Not a public holiday
Monday September 24 Queens Birthday Last Monday in Sep, or 1st Monday in Oct. WA Only
Friday September 28 Grand Final Eve Victoria
Monday October 01 Labour Day 1st Monday in October. NSW/ACT/SA
Monday October 01 Queens Birthday 1st Monday in October. QLD
Tuesday November 06 Melbourne Cup Day 1st Tuesday in November. VIC Only
Monday December 24 Christmas Eve South Australia. From 7pm - midnight
Tuesday December 25 Christmas Day
Wednesday December 26 Boxing Day Except South Australia
Wednesday December 26 Proclamation Day South Australia. First working day after Christmas Day
Monday December 31 New Year's Eve South Australia. From 7pm - midnight


National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday


  • Public holidays are declared on a state and territory basis, with the exception of the seven national public holidays

Translate this page