Social

Advertisements


Russia announces proposals for public holidays for 2017

Government propose 13 Weekday Public Holidays in 2017

Moscow, 9 June 2016

On 7 June 2016, the Russian Ministry of Labour prepared a draft decree of the RF Government on public holidays to be observed in 2017.

As is customary, Russian will greet the new year with an extended holiday between New Year and Orthodox Christmas. In 2017, this will run for nine days from Saturday 31 December 2016 - Sun 8 January 2017.

As Defender of the Fatherland falls on a Friday, citizens will enjoy a four-day weekend from Thursday 23 February 23 to Sunday 26 February.

International Women's Day creates an unusual one-day midweek break in 2017 as it falls on Wednesday 8 March.

May Day is on Monday 1 May, so no additional holidays are proposed. This is the same for National Day which also creates a long weekend from Saturday 10 June to Monday 12 June.

In between those holidays, Victory Day falls on Tuesday 9 May, so an extra bridge holiday is proposed for Monday 8 May creating a four-day weekend.

Rounding off the year, Monday 6 November is proposed a public holiday as Day of Unity falls on Saturday 4 November.

As with previous years, some of the extra bridge holidays will be compensated by weekend days being declared working days. No details of these days are available yet.

Russians can discuss the Draft Resolution on the portal regulation.gov.ru.

Public holidays in Russia in 2017

Weekday Date Name
Sunday 01 January 2017 New Years Day
Monday 02 January 2017 Bank Holiday
Tuesday 03 January 2017 Bank Holiday
Wednesday 04 January 2017 Bank Holiday
Thursday 05 January 2017 Bank Holiday
Friday 06 January 2017 Bank Holiday
Saturday 07 January 2017 Orthodox Christmas Day
Thursday 23 February 2017 Defence of the Fatherland
Friday 24 February 2017 Defence of the Fatherland Holiday
Wednesday 08 March 2017 Women's Day
Monday 01 May 2017 Labour Day
Monday 08 May 2017 Bridge holiday
Tuesday 09 May 2017 Victory Day
Monday 12 June 2017 National Day
Saturday 04 November 2017 Day of Unity
Monday 06 November 2017 Day of Unity Holiday


Translate this page