Indonesia announces public holidays for 2017

Government Set 19 Holidays and Leave In 2017

Jakarta, 12 May 2016

The Indonesian government has set out the public holidays in 2017. In total, there will be 15 national holidays and four Cuti Bersama holidays. Of the 15 national holidays, three fall on weekends. Chinese New Year falls on a Saturday while New Year's Day and the first day of Hari Raya Puasa fall on Sundays.

The longest break will be for Hari Raya Puasa which will see Indonesians enjoying a six day break from Friday 23 June.

With the addition of the Cuti Bersama for Tuesday 26 December, Christmas will be a four day holiday.

This Joint Decree for the holidays was signed by Minister of Labour M Hanif Dhakiri, Minister for Religious Affairs Lukman Hakim Saifuddin and Minister of Administrative Reform and Bureaucratic Reform Yuddy Chrisnandi. It was witnessed by the Coordinating Minister of Human Development and Culture (Coordinating PMK) Puan Maharani.

The setting of collective leave and national holidays in Indonesia is regulated in Government Regulation No. 24 of 1976, Presidential Decree No. 24 of 1976 and Presidential Decree No. 3 of 1983.

On the signing of the decree, Hanif Menaker remarked that the objective of collective leave and public holidays is aimed to improve efficiency and effectiveness in the utilization of working days, holidays and leave together.

"We hope that the establishment of a national holiday deal and leave together can improve labor productivity," said Hanif. In addition, it is hoped that the holidays will also provide a boost to the tourism sector.

Public holidays in Indonesia in 2017

Weekday Date Name
Sunday 01 January 2017 New Years Day
Monday 02 January 2017 Cuti Bersama
Saturday 28 January 2017 Chinese New Year
Wednesday 15 February 2017 Public Holiday
Tuesday 28 March 2017 Hari Raya Nyepi
Friday 14 April 2017 Good Friday
Wednesday 19 April 2017 Public Holiday
Monday 24 April 2017 Isra Miraj
Monday 01 May 2017 Labour Day
Thursday 11 May 2017 Waisak Day
Thursday 25 May 2017 Ascension Day
Thursday 01 June 2017 Pancasila Day
Friday 23 June 2017 Hari Raya Puasa Holiday
Saturday 24 June 2017 Hari Raya Puasa Holiday
Sunday 25 June 2017 Hari Raya Puasa
Monday 26 June 2017 Hari Raya Puasa Holiday
Tuesday 27 June 2017 Cuti Bersama
Wednesday 28 June 2017 Cuti Bersama
Thursday 29 June 2017 Cuti Bersama
Friday 30 June 2017 Cuti Bersama
Thursday 17 August 2017 Independence Day
Friday 01 September 2017 Idul Adha
Thursday 21 September 2017 Muharram
Friday 01 December 2017 Maulidur Rasul
Monday 25 December 2017 Christmas Day
Tuesday 26 December 2017 Cuti Bersama

Translate this page