Holidays in Kentucky in 2016

Federal and State Holidays in Kentucky, USA Federal and state holidays of Kentucky, USA in 2016

Friday January 01 New Years Day
Monday January 18 Martin Luther King Day 3rd Monday in January
Friday March 25 Good Friday CT, DE, HI, IN, KY, LA, NJ, NC, ND, TN
Sunday May 08 Mother's Day 2nd Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Monday May 30 Memorial Day Last Monday in May
Wednesday June 01 Statehood Day Kentucky, Tennessee. Always celebrated on 1 June
Sunday June 19 Fathers Day 3rd Sunday in June. Not a public holiday
Monday July 04 Independence Day
Monday September 05 Labor Day 1st Monday in September
Friday November 11 Veterans Day
Thursday November 24 Thanksgiving 4th Thursday in November
Friday November 25 Day after Thanksgiving AK, CA, DE, FL, GA, IL, IO, KY, ME, MD, MI, MN, NE, NV, NH, NM, OH, OK, PA, SC, TX, WA, WV
Friday November 25 Day after Thanksgiving Day after 4th Thursday in November
Saturday December 24 Christmas Eve KS, KY, MI, NC, ND, OK, SC, TX, VA, WI
Monday December 26 Christmas Day (in lieu)
Saturday December 31 New Years's Birthday Kentucky, Michigan, Wisconsin only.


National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday Government/Public Sector


  • All 11 current federal holidays are also public holidays in all 50 states.
  • If a federal holiday falls on a Saturday, the preceding Friday is a holiday; if a holiday falls on a Sunday the following Monday is a holiday.
  • State holidays are holidays for the government and public sector in that state and many, but not all, private businesses will give employees the day off

Other Years

Translate this page