US State Holidays



Federal and State USA Holidays 2014

USA List of Federal, State Holidays and Key Observances of USA in 2014

Wednesday January 01 New Years Day
Friday January 17 Lee-Jackson Day Virginia. Friday before 3rd Monday in January
Sunday January 19 Confederate Heroes' Day Texas only.
Sunday January 19 Robert E Lee's Birthday Florida only. Always celebrated on 19 January
Monday January 20 Martin Luther King Day Third Monday in January
Monday January 20 Robert E Lee's Birthday Alabama, Arkansas, Mississippi only.
Monday January 20 Idaho Human Rights Day Idaho. 3rd Monday in January
Monday January 20 Civil Rights Day Arizona, New Hampshire. 3rd Monday in January
Thursday January 30 Korematsu Day California.
Wednesday February 12 Lincoln's Birthday Connecticut, Illinois, Missouri, New Jersey, New York.
Friday February 14 Susan B Anthony's Birthday (observed) Florida only.
Monday February 17 Presidents Day 3rd Monday in February
Monday February 17 Daisy Gatson Bates Day Arkansas only. 3rd Monday in February
Sunday March 02 Texas Independence Day Texas only.
Monday March 03 Casimir Pulaski Day Illinois only. 1st Monday in March
Tuesday March 04 Mardi Gras Alabama, Louisiana only.
Tuesday March 04 Town Meeting Day Vermont. 1st Tuesday in March
Monday March 17 Evacuation Day Suffolk County, Massachusetts.
Tuesday March 25 Maryland Day Maryland only
Wednesday March 26 Prince Jonah Kuhio Kalanianaole Day Hawaii only.
Monday March 31 Seward Day Alaska only. Last Monday in March
Monday March 31 Cesar Chavez Day State holiday in California
Wednesday April 02 Pascua Florida Day Florida only.
Wednesday April 16 Emancipation Day Washington DC Only. Weekday closest to April 16th
Friday April 18 Good Friday CT, DE, HI, IN, KY, LA, NJ, NC, ND, TN
Monday April 21 Patriots Day Maine, Massachusetts. 3rd Monday in April
Monday April 21 San Jacinto Day Texas. Always celebrated on 21 April
Friday April 25 Arbor Day Nebraska. Last Friday in April
Monday April 28 Confederate Memorial Day Alabama. 4th Monday in April
Monday April 28 Confederate Memorial Day Florida, Georgia, Mississippi. Last Monday in April
Sunday May 04 Rhode Island Independence Day Rhode Island. Always celebrated on 4 May
Tuesday May 06 Primary Election Day Indiana Indiana. 1st Tuesday after 1st Monday in May every 2 years
Thursday May 08 Truman Day Missouri only.
Saturday May 10 Confederate Memorial Day North Carolina, South Carolina only.
Sunday May 11 Mother's Day 2nd Sunday in May. Not a public holiday.
Tuesday May 13 Primary Election Day West Virginia West Virginia. 2nd Tuesday in May every 2 years
Monday May 26 Memorial Day Last Monday in May
Sunday June 01 Statehood Day Kentucky, Tennessee. Always celebrated on 1 June
Monday June 02 Jefferson Davis' Birthday Alabama only. First Monday in June
Wednesday June 11 King Kamehameha I Day Hawaii only.
Sunday June 15 Fathers Day Third Sunday of June. Not a National Holiday
Tuesday June 17 Bunker Hill Day Massachusetts only.
Thursday June 19 Emancipation Day Texas only. Juneteenth
Friday June 20 West Virginia Day West Virginia only.
Friday July 04 Independence Day
Thursday July 24 Pioneer Day Utah only.
Monday August 11 Victory Day Rhode Island only. 2nd Monday in August
Friday August 15 Statehood Day Hawaii only. 3rd Friday in August
Saturday August 16 Bennington Battle Day Vermont only.
Wednesday August 27 Lyndon Baines Johnson Day Texas only. Always celebrated on 27 August
Monday September 01 Labor Day First Monday in September
Monday October 13 Columbus Day 2nd Monday in October
Saturday October 18 Alaska Day Alaska only.
Friday October 31 Nevada Day Nevada only. Last Friday in October
Tuesday November 04 Election Day DE, HI, IL, LA, MD, MI, MT, PA, RI, WV
Wednesday November 05 Election Day New York only.
Thursday November 06 Return Day Delaware Delaware only. Thursday after election day every 2 years
Tuesday November 11 Veterans Day
Thursday November 27 Thanksgiving Fourth Thursday in November
Friday November 28 Day after Thanksgiving Day after 4th Thursday in November
Friday November 28 Day after Thanksgiving AK, CA, DE, FL, IL, IO, KY, ME, MD, MI, MN, NE, NH, NM, OH, OK, PA, SC, TX, WA, WV
Friday November 28 Robert E. Lee's Birthday Georgia only. Day after 4th Thursday in November
Friday November 28 Lincoln's Birthday Indiana only. Day after 4th Thursday
Friday November 28 Family Day Nevada only. Day after 4th Thursday
Wednesday December 24 Christmas Eve KS, KY, MI, NC, ND, OK, SC, TX, VA, WI
Thursday December 25 Christmas Day
Friday December 26 Day after Christmas Federal Employees only. State Holiday in six states.
Friday December 26 Day after Christmas Kansas, North Carolina, New Hampshire, South Carolina, Texas, Virginia.
Friday December 26 Washington's Birthday Indiana only.
Wednesday December 31 New Years's Birthday Kentucky, Michigan, Wisconsin only.


National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday Government/Public Sector


  • All 11 current federal holidays are also public holidays in all 50 states.
  • If a federal holiday falls on a Saturday, the preceding Friday is a holiday; if a holiday falls on a Sunday the following Monday is a holiday.
  • State holidays are holidays for the government and public sector in that state and many, but not all, private businesses will give employees the day off

Other Years

Translate this page