Bank Holidays in Wales in 2016

Wales Upcoming Bank Holidays in Wales

Boxing Day
Boxing Day

26 December 2016 This National holiday is in 64 days. The second day of Christmas is known as Boxing Day or St. Stephens Day. St Stephen was...

Christmas Day (in lieu)
Christmas Day (in lieu)

27 December 2016 This National holiday is in 65 days. The day celebrates the Nativity of Jesus which (traditionally, but unlikely in reality)...

New Years Day
New Years Day

1 January 2017 This National holiday is in 70 days. New Years Day is a public holiday in all countries that observe the Gregorian calendar,...

United Kingdom National and Regional Bank holidays of Wales in 2016

Friday January 01 New Years Day First Monday if 1st is Saturday or Sunday
Tuesday February 09 Pancake Tuesday Shrove Tuesday. Not a Public Holiday
Tuesday March 01 St Davids Day Wales Only. Not a public holiday
Sunday March 06 Mothering Sunday Not a National Holiday
Friday March 25 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday March 28 Easter Monday Except Scotland
Monday May 02 Early May Bank Holiday First Monday in May
Monday May 30 Spring Bank Holiday Last Monday in May
Sunday June 19 Fathers Day 3rd Sunday in June. Not a public holiday
Monday August 29 August Bank Holiday Last Monday in August (except Scotland)
Sunday November 13 Remembrance Sunday Not a public holiday. Sunday closest to 11 November
Monday December 26 Boxing Day
Tuesday December 27 Christmas Day (in lieu)


National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday


  • Within the United Kingdom, there is no legal definition of what constitutes a public holiday in and it is debatable whether public holidays technically exist in Scotland. The term public holiday is often confused with bank holidays.
  • In England and Wales a bank holiday tends automatically to be a public holiday and the day is generally observed as a holiday. In Scotland this may not always the case.

Translate this page