Holidays in Wales in 2012

wales, United Kingdom National bank holidays of Wales, United Kingdom in 2012

Monday January 02 New Years Day (in lieu) First Monday if 1st is Saturday or Sunday
Tuesday February 21 Pancake Tuesday Shrove Tuesday
Thursday March 01 St Davids Day Wales Only. Not a public holiday.
Sunday March 18 Mothering Sunday Not a National Holiday
Friday April 06 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday April 09 Easter Monday Except Scotland
Monday April 23 St Georges Day England Only. Not a National holiday.
Monday May 07 Early May Bank Holiday First Monday in May
Monday June 04 May Bank Holiday Moves to June 4 in 2012 to create long weekend for Diamond Jubilee
Tuesday June 05 Queens Diamond Jubilee Special Holiday
Sunday June 17 Fathers Day Third Sunday of June. Not a National Holiday
Monday August 27 August Bank Holiday in August (except Scotland)
Tuesday December 25 Christmas Day
Wednesday December 26 Boxing Day Celebrated on 26th December. Typically it will be moved and celebrated on the next weekday if 26 December is a Saturday or Sunday


National Holiday
Regional Holiday
Not a Public Holiday


  • Within the United Kingdom, there is no legal definition of what constitutes a public holiday in and it is debatable whether public holidays technically exist in Scotland. The term public holiday is often confused with bank holidays.
  • In England and Wales a bank holiday tends automatically to be a public holiday and the day is generally observed as a holiday. In Scotland this may not always the case.

Other Years

Translate this page