Holidays in Scotland in 2011

scotland, United Kingdom National bank holidays of Scotland, United Kingdom in 2011

Monday January 03 New Years Day (in lieu) First Monday if 1st is Saturday or Sunday
Tuesday January 04 Day after New Years Day Scotland Only
Sunday April 03 Mothering Sunday Not a National Holiday
Friday April 22 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Friday April 29 Royal Wedding Bank Holiday To celebrate the Royal wedding
Monday May 02 Early May Bank Holiday First Monday in May
Monday May 30 May Bank Holiday Last Monday in May
Sunday June 19 Fathers Day Not a National Holiday
Monday August 01 August Bank Holiday Scotland Only
Monday August 29 August Bank Holiday in August (except Scotland)
Wednesday November 30 St Andrews Day Scotland Only. If November 30 falls on a weekend, the next Monday is a bank holiday instead.
Sunday December 25 Christmas Day
Monday December 26 Christmas Day (in lieu) In lieu of Christmas Day
Tuesday December 27 Boxing Day (in lieu) In lieu of Boxing Day


National Holiday
Regional Holiday
Not a Public Holiday


  • Within the United Kingdom, there is no legal definition of what constitutes a public holiday in and it is debatable whether public holidays technically exist in Scotland. The term public holiday is often confused with bank holidays.
  • In England and Wales a bank holiday tends automatically to be a public holiday and the day is generally observed as a holiday. In Scotland this may not always the case.

Other Years

Translate this page