Holidays in Scotland in 2008

scotland, United Kingdom National bank holidays of Scotland, United Kingdom in 2008

Tuesday January 01 New Years Day First Monday if 1st is Saturday or Sunday
Wednesday January 02 Day after New Years Day Scotland Only
Sunday March 02 Mothering Sunday Not a National Holiday
Friday March 21 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday May 05 Early May Bank Holiday First Monday in May
Monday May 26 May Bank Holiday Last Monday in May
Monday August 04 August Bank Holiday Scotland Only
Monday August 25 August Bank Holiday except Scotland
Monday December 01 St Andrews Day Scotland Only. If November 30 falls on a weekend, the next Monday is a bank holiday instead.
Thursday December 25 Christmas Day
Friday December 26 Boxing Day Celebrated on 26th December. Typically it will be moved and celebrated on the next weekday if 26 December is a Saturday or Sunday


National Holiday
Regional Holiday
Not a Public Holiday


  • Within the United Kingdom, there is no legal definition of what constitutes a public holiday in and it is debatable whether public holidays technically exist in Scotland. The term public holiday is often confused with bank holidays.
  • In England and Wales a bank holiday tends automatically to be a public holiday and the day is generally observed as a holiday. In Scotland this may not always the case.

Other Years

Translate this page