Social

Options

Advertisements

Bank Holidays in United Kingdom in 2018

United Kingdom When is the next Bank Holiday in United Kingdom?

St Andrews Day
St Andrews Day

30 November 2017 This Regional holiday is in 10 days. Patron saint of Scotland. Designated as an official bank holiday in Scotland in 2006

Christmas Day
Christmas Day

25 December 2017 This National holiday is in 35 days. The day celebrates the Nativity of Jesus, the date which according to tradition took pl...

Boxing Day
Boxing Day

26 December 2017 This National holiday is in 36 days. The second day of Christmas is known as Boxing Day or St. Stephens Day. St Stephen was...

United Kingdom List of national and regional Bank holidays of United Kingdom in 2018

Day Date Holiday Comments
Monday January 01 New Year's Day First Monday if 1st is Saturday or Sunday
Tuesday January 02 Day after New Years Day Scotland Only
Tuesday February 13 Pancake Tuesday Shrove Tuesday. Not a Public Holiday
Thursday March 01 St Davids Day Wales Only. Not a public holiday
Sunday March 11 Mothering Sunday Not a National Holiday
Monday March 19 St Patrick's Day Northern Ireland Only
Friday March 30 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday April 02 Easter Monday Except Scotland
Monday April 23 St Georges Day England Only. Not a public holiday
Monday May 07 Early May Bank Holiday First Monday in May
Monday May 28 Spring Bank Holiday Last Monday in May
Sunday June 17 Father's Day 3rd Sunday in June. Not a public holiday
Thursday July 12 Battle of the Boyne Northern Ireland Only
Monday August 06 August Bank Holiday Scotland Only. First Monday in August
Monday August 27 August Bank Holiday Last Monday in August (except Scotland)
Monday November 05 Guy Fawkes Night England Only. Not a public holiday
Sunday November 11 Remembrance Sunday Not a public holiday. Sunday closest to 11 November
Friday November 30 St Andrews Day Scotland Only. If November 30 falls on a weekend, the next Monday is a bank holiday instead
Tuesday December 25 Christmas Day
Wednesday December 26 Boxing Day

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Within the United Kingdom, there is no legal definition of what constitutes a public holiday in and it is debatable whether public holidays technically exist in Scotland. The term public holiday is often confused with bank holidays.
  • In England and Wales a bank holiday tends automatically to be a public holiday and the day is generally observed as a holiday. In Scotland this may not always the case.

Translate this page